Mom's Goulash in the Microwave Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was good, though more time consuming than I anticipated. I will make it again. It made way more than 6 servings, which was great for leftovers. The next day I added some garlic salt, grated parmesean and a little water (mine was not very saucy) before heating it all up over the stovetop. This dressed up the flavor somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was delicious! The only change I made is that I could only find a 15 oz tomato sauce and that was fine because I had 1.1 lbs of ground beef. Turned out perfect in the microwave and I didn't change the seasonings at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
this was ok. i served it with homemade corn bread but my boyfriend thought it was terrible. it might be because he has always had authentic polish goulash his whole life and this is nothing like that. to make it more like a stew i added water, diced potatoes, and carrots. serving it with sour cream made me like it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zo Zee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this recipe last night and added fresh mushrooms that I needed to use before they went bad and instead of diced tomatoes I used crushed tomatoes because that's what I had in my pantry. I was totally excited with the results!! This is an easy, quick recipe. I cook for 100 people several times a year and I'm going to add this recipe! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was very tasty! This is the best tasting american/midwest goulash we've eaten. I browned the meat in a skillet and used dried minced onion (almost 2T worth) but did the rest in the microwave. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing your recipe Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a real hit with my family. The only thing is be careful with the pepper. A little goes a long way. We will probably take that part right out. So much better then my mom made growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Don't know if I'd say it was the best, but it is good! I've made it twice and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe was a great, quick dinner for my daughter and I one random night. I did put it all together on my stove top, and as a vegetarian, I omitted the beef along with 1/2 can of tomato sauce. It bridged the gap that has always existed between my childhood ideals of my mom's salty goulash and my friend's mom's sweet goulash. And I might try to add a couple traditional goulash veggies--whatever those are--next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a really good recipe--it's simple, economical, and requires only a minimum of cookware to prepare. It used basic ingredients I already had on hand, and the combination of spices made it very tasty. I like the fact that it uses pasta to help stretch a pound of ground beef. I think it would be very flexible, too--you could add a can of vegetables, or beans, or whatever you have on hand that strikes your fancy. The only minor adjustments I made were the cooking times: I cooked the ground beef and chopped veggies for a total of 8 minutes on High; the sauce for 15 minutes on power level 8; and after adding the macaroni, I heated it for 5 minutes on High. I served it sprinkled with Parmesan and a side of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was very good. My husband even had seconds. I used penne pasta and omitted the caraway seeds. I add a can of kidney beans and chopped up some frozen mixed bell peppers that I had. When I served it, I added some Parmesan cheese. I am looking forward to having the left overs for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States