Mom's Good Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was a very good recipe. My 4 tips: 1.) Roll out one big log and cut it into individual rolls; It's much easier. 2.) I always use a pizza cutter (the wheeled tool) to slice the dough strips. 3.) I got 12 huge rolls out of the recipe this way, using a 9 x 13" pan. Your quantity will vary depending on how thin you roll out the dough, how many strips/rolls you cut out of the dough, and what size pan you use. 4.) The filling listed is not nearly enough to flavor all of this dough! For the filling, I mixed together 1 cup white granulated sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, about 3 tablespoons of cinnamon, and some chopped nuts, and added that to the buttered dough, then rolled up the strips to form rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany R.
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I'm giving this a 5 for the dough!!! These turned out AWSOME!! A few adjustments were...I used milk intsead of water and I put 2 tsp. vanilla in the egg/oil mixture.(it makes the dough a little more flavorful...less like plain bread. I did these as a big rolled out "sheet" and smeared soft butter before my cinnamon/sugar. I keep a tub of sugar/cinnamon/flour that I use for my cinnamon rolls and fruit pies.(1/2 C. brown sugar, 3/4 C. white sugar, 1/4 C. flour, and 4 TBS. cinnamon...the four helps keep your filling inside the cinn. rolls, and works to thicken the juice in your fruit pie) These are also great if you spread diced apples on the dough before you roll it up...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
while the dough of this recipe is good (rises well, light), the essential part, sugar and cinnamon, are not enough. if you want the normal cinnamon buns that are sticky sweet, you'll need to increase the sugar plus add a drizzle frosting after baking. if you want something more bready with a hint of cinnamon and sugar, don't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Linske
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Using previous suggestions, these are the best cinnamon rolls I have ever had (I think even better than pillsbury! For the filling I used 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar and 3 T cinnamon. I also rolled out one big rectangle and rolled it up and cut off slices. It filled 2 pie plates full. I also drizzled on a confectioner sugar/milk topping when they were still warm. The dough can sit over night in the fridge in place of the 40 minutes if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Great recipe. I took the suggestion to just roll the dough out, then spread the cinnamon sugar mix over it, roll up, then cut. Definitely use brown sugar. One thing might be to sprinkle crushed butter (or regular) pecans on top. Also, a GREAT drizzling glaze that adds a little more flavor is a mix of 1 Cup Confectioner's sugar, 1 Tablespoon margarine or butter (softened), and 1 Tbsp milk, stirred together then just drizzled over rolls after taking them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Dough was light though very sticky. Taste was kinda plain. I made this recipe a second time putting brown sugar at the bottom of the 9x13 pan I also added brown sugar to the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Gave it a lot more flavor. recipe made 12 very large bows! Next time I'll try to roll out the dough. Very good recipe over all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Yum! Yum! Yum! I just made these for my family and they love them!!! I did follow other peoples advise and use more sugar, added brown sugar and nuts. I will most definately be making these again. Thank you Shanna for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Excellent! My first experience with a bread-like thing and I was a little scared. But it came out great. My two year old loves to help in the kitchen and for some reason kneading the dough was the coolest thing in the whole world today! I did add a little sugar to the dough, but we like everything sweet here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was very good but time consuming I suggest that you make the dough the night before and knead it on parchment paper for easy clean up. And I put cream cheese frosting on top like Pillsbury rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkiraHyuga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are AWESOME!! I made them on a cold afternoon for my kids as a warm treat when they came home from school. The few ends that didn't have much filling in, i used a small muffin tin and baked them taht way, they turned out great too. AWESOME recipe and a sure keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States