Mom's Good Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I dont know what i did wrong mine turned out very hard. Maybe they did not rise correctly. I did add more sugar to the middle like others sugggested. I think next time i will cook them all in a 9x13 cake pan it seems like the ones on the outside of the pie dish were the hardest and i used 3 pie dishes. I am hopeing they will soften a little overnight with a peice of bread in there with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Easy-to-follow directions perfect for a first-time pastry attempt, and my whole house smells wonderful now! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Linske
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Using previous suggestions, these are the best cinnamon rolls I have ever had (I think even better than pillsbury! For the filling I used 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar and 3 T cinnamon. I also rolled out one big rectangle and rolled it up and cut off slices. It filled 2 pie plates full. I also drizzled on a confectioner sugar/milk topping when they were still warm. The dough can sit over night in the fridge in place of the 40 minutes if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I've tongue-in-cheekingly renamed this recipe: "CinnaKnots". :o) I made this recipe for a pot-luck reception at my church. Instead of making 12 great big knots I cut the slices smaller and ended up making 55 small knots. I do however, have a few complaints about this recipe: 1) the dough is really sticky and I had a terrible time kneading it. My heavy duty mixmaster was labouring. 2) the dough is somewhat bland even after I doubled the sugar and added cinnamon. 3) The cinnamon sugar wouldn't stick to the knots so I ended up dipping the tops into a little bit of milk then rolling them in the cinnamon sugar (which BTW consisted of white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg). They came out nice and crunchy but it tasted like something was missing. I think next time I make this I'll use more sugar (maybe brown) and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was very good but time consuming I suggest that you make the dough the night before and knead it on parchment paper for easy clean up. And I put cream cheese frosting on top like Pillsbury rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkiraHyuga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Yum! Yum! Yum! I just made these for my family and they love them!!! I did follow other peoples advise and use more sugar, added brown sugar and nuts. I will most definately be making these again. Thank you Shanna for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Easy. A belly warming experience that also leaves your nose happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Dough was light though very sticky. Taste was kinda plain. I made this recipe a second time putting brown sugar at the bottom of the 9x13 pan I also added brown sugar to the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Gave it a lot more flavor. recipe made 12 very large bows! Next time I'll try to roll out the dough. Very good recipe over all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
while the dough of this recipe is good (rises well, light), the essential part, sugar and cinnamon, are not enough. if you want the normal cinnamon buns that are sticky sweet, you'll need to increase the sugar plus add a drizzle frosting after baking. if you want something more bready with a hint of cinnamon and sugar, don't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
wowowowow!! i loved these! they were sooooo goood! perfect. i made them randomly one day, and im not the best cook, but i like to do it. i mixed the dough in a bread maker then let it rise in a bowl. the dough was really sticky but it was well worth the effort, flaky sweet goodnes!!i highly recomend!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States