Mom's Good Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
After reading the reviews I made a couple changes. I used half milk half water. Rolled into log and cut into about an inch and half slices. Using a cup of white sugar a cup of brown sugar and about two tbsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
One tip for cutting the dough. Use string! Place the string under the dough, then wrap it around and pull on opposition side and it cuts it perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Not bad dough at all, though halving the recipe still produces a rather obscene amount of it. Added a simple icing to it afterwards, and it all came together pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
WOH! it made about twice the rolls it said! double yum! I made mine bowties for my sister as a result of her obsession with all things british and bowties. these great i added butter to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have never worked with yeast so I searched for an easy recipe and let me tell you, this is it! My 10 year old daughter and I made these cinnamon rolls and they turned out perfect! They rival the cinnamon rolls I have had at a local bread shop in my town. The only changes I made was to add a bit of vanilla to the bread dough mix, rolled out the dough to a large rectangle shape, spread it with one tablespoon of good butter, added the cinnamon/sugar, rolled into a tight log and slice into 1 inch wheels, which I placed into a cake pan. After cooling the rolls, I slathered them with a vanilla glaze I found on this site (pretty good in a pinch). These were delightfully, light, and very delicious. We will definitely make these rolls again. Thank you, Marsha, for sharing your mother's cinnamon roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by taniya
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I found this recipe and had my husband try making them. He loved the recipe and how they turned out. I love them. We added raisins & craisins to ours and topped with cream cheese frosting(1 stick butter, 2 cream cheese packages, 1cup powder sugar,and splash or 2 of vanilla-now blend)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taniya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I gave this recipe only three stars because the recipe, without any modifications, is not great as a cinnamon roll recipe. However, I didn't rate it any lower because the dough is excellent for cinnamon rolls the way I make them. I made the dough, as per the recipe's instructions. I agree with others who have said to make sure you let it rise twice. I added butter, brown sugar, and plenty of cinnamon as filling. I also brush the rolls with butter before I bake them. Then, I add a cream cheese frosting (from the "Clone of a Cinnabon" recipe) to the warm rolls. In short, this recipe alone is not the goey, sweet cinnamon roll that I am used to. This recipe does, however, make a great dough! The dough itself doesn't need to be overly sweet if you are adding a lot of sweet to it like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love the dough of this recipe (it always works), but I don't follow the directions for assembly. This is what I do: First, I add a tsp or so of vanilla to the dough for some extra flavour. I put it in with the water. Once it's kneaded, I put it in a metal bowel and into a warm oven (about 250F) that has been turned off with a wet towel over the top and let it rise for the 40 minutes. Then I divide the dough in half. I roll out each half, slather it in butter and a generous amount of brown sugar (probably 1 cup per half). I sprinkle it with cinnamon, roll it up from the long end and cut each half of the dough into 12 slices (this way I get 24 rolls). I put them in 2 greased 9x13 pans. If I want extra gooey yumminess I make a mixture of 1/3 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp corn syrup and 1 cup pecan halves (this much for EACH pan) and pour that in the bottom of the pan before putting the rolls in. I reheat the oven to 250 while I do all that, turn it off and cover the pans again with a wet towel. 40 minutes later they're usually nice and large. I pull them out, preheat the oven to 350 and bake the 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The cinnamon rolls were okay, but not as sweet as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
As with other reviewers, I rolled this into a log and sliced it. However, I let the dough rise twice - once for forty minutes right after mixing and then for twenty minutes after I got them on the pan. I also made a thin butter cream frosting that I poured on right after the pan came out of the oven. They were amazingly fluffy and just plain enormous. This recipe yielded 19 gigantic rolls! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrspost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States