Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I love them just the way they are. Made them gluten free using Wendy Wark's all purpose blend and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Best Ginger Snaps I've ever eaten! I always read a bunch of reviews before making a recipe and found the most common tip was to double the spices, so that's exactly what I did... these cookies are all about the spice, so I figured I couldn't go wrong there. These cookies are so delicious I've had to force myself to stop eating them!! I made the cookies smaller than the recipe called for so when I baked them 10 minutes, I think that was a tad long because they really hardened up. Next time I will bake them 6-8 minutes and then let them cool a bit on the cookie sheet. I also had no problem handling the dough - it was a little soft, but definitely workable to roll into a ball... the only thing I noticed is that when I rolled the tops in sugar, the sugar clumped a little - maybe because the dough was a little warmer and soft? I'm sure a little bit of time in the fridge would fix that. Just little tips for next time I make these, because there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Great Cookies, easy to make and have that perfect ginger flavor, they are fabulous. Just be careful not to burn them, when they are done they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I accidentaly preheated the oven to 350 instead of 375. The cookies were soft in the middle, just the way I like them. I will make these again and again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I followed the recipe and these came out perfect! Great flavor and they are so nice and crunchy. This is one of my new favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINKRBELL23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Too Good to be true! After unsuccessful purchase after purchase of 'tripe ginger' 'organic ginger snaps' and the list goes on... This is the best hands down! I think this should satisfy any Ginger Snap Critic! I should know ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Amazing though I did take the advice of others & amped up the spices to 1 1/2 tsp for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These are amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter and they lasted about 20 minutes at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is an excellent BASE recipe. It can easily be tailored. However, as it is, it delivers a very wet cookie dough and thus a chewy, thin, delicious texture once baked. Here are some of my changes ( since I really LOVE spicy gingerbread cookies ): - I amped up the spices (1.5 tsp of cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger ) - I added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it that bite - I added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter - I baked it for a little bit longer to give it a bit of crisp ( to add to the chewiness ) - I made a "harder" batch ( more traditional snap ), so added 1/4 cup of flour so I can form it into soft balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States