Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I don't understand how some people can change a recipe drastically and then only give the recipe 2 stars. If you're substituting "healthier" ingredients or cutting back on ingredients the turn-out will be a whole different recipe. In essence, you are then giving a low rating your new, much worse recipe than the original recipe. I followed this recipe to a "T" and the cookies turned out excellent. I even had people who claimed to never before like ginger snaps rave over these. Well done! Thanks for the great recipe. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
((UPDATE: I continue to make these fabulous cookies. I've discovered that the fewer cookies on the cookie sheet the better, as they will spread out a little more and crackle even better! Also, I recommend dipping only the tops in sugar - this way, they don't stick to the cookie sheet.)) Absolutely the best cookies I have ever made! I was so excited to see that they had actually crackled and they looked so pretty and tasted amazing! The recipe has oil in it so the dough may look a little different than you're used to, but I think this is what makes these cookies so wonderful. I doubled the cinnamon and ginger, and *very* lightly greased my cookie sheets (or you can use parchment papaer, because they will stick otherwise). I baked them for 8 minutes at 350 F., and they were perfect - soft, crackled, and totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I doubled the spices and the taste wasn't too bad. My personal opinion is that it was a tad too sweet and should go better with 1.5 times of spices. Here are the problems I encountered: The dough was too soft; I had to put it in the fridge and flour my hands when rolling the dough. The dough expands quite abit upon baking, so you will only need to roll till about the size of a walnut or smaller. The recipe's "bake till firm in center" is not really accurate as the cookies harden upon cooling. I followed the advice and got big ginger crackers. So you may want to cool the cookies after time's up to check their texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Oh WOW! These cookies are beyond wonderful! They smell incredible! And they are so easy to make! I had set aside 3 hours to bake this afternoon... I baked the entire batch in under 45 minutes! Another bonus: they make your house smell delicious! TIPS: Double the spices! After you make the dough, refrigerate it for about 5 - 10 mins so it's less sticky when you roll it. Make sure to leave 2 - 3 inches between cookies, these really do spread out! These cookies are lovely to look at it, great to smell, but the best part is eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I read all the reviews, and did as recommended... doubled the spices and these cookies came out great. I also only used sugar on the tops of the cookie balls, but not regular granulated sugar. Instead I used the large crystal decorator sugar that you can get in cooking stores. This made the cookies just sparkle. A couple reviewers mentioned having trouble "rolling out" these cookies. These are to be rolled into marbles, not rolled with a pin! Otherwise... fantastic recipe... a keeper! (Made 36, as noted in the recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Doubled the cinnamon, cloves and ginger, rolled them small so they came out 2 inches round when done and cooked them for 8 1/2 to 9 minutes so that I had ginger "chewies" instead of ginger snaps (my preference). You gotta take them out of the oven before you think they are done, because they keep on cooking on the cookie sheet while you are taking them off one by one to put on the cooking rack. I made three batches in 2 weeks (co-workers think I'm the bomb!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great old fashioned ginger snap! Some hints: * Pour the 3/4 cup of oil into a measuring cup, then add the molasses to the 1 cup line, That way, when you pour it out, none of the molasses will stick to the measuring cup. * Sift the dry ingredients together to mix the spices in well. * Only sugar the top half of the cookies so they don't stick on the pan. Yellow decorator sugar looks prettier than granular sugar. * Don't over bake. My slightly smaller (3 1/2/ doz yield) cookies took 10 minutes. * I didn't have cloves and substituted allspice. They were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I made this recipe because I didn't have any butter in the house. They are okay, but not nearly as good as recipes that call for butter. So if you want to avoid butter, this recipe is fine. Otherwise, there are many better ginger snap recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I would like to give this recipe 5 stars. It was great I did change a few things as suggested like doubling cinnamon, cloves, and ginger and added about 1/4 to 2/3 cup more flour. Greased my pan and lowered the temp to 300. They turned out great. This is a keeper will be making for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Stop right there! I know what you're thinking... "I can substitute this for that, and then take this out or add that and it will be just as good." No it won't, so cut that out. If you're anything like me, you have to make a recipe your own, and that's exactly where I failed here. I recently discovered using apple sauce in lieu of oil/butter, and it worked fantastically in a recent banana bread, but not so much here. I couldn't find any definitive info about using apple sauce in cookies, but I'm here to tell you DON'T DO IT, unless you want mini cookie shaped cakes, with less flavor. I used 1/4 c sauce + 1/2 c oil, and it's just not working out. Honestly, all I wanted was a vessel on which to eat nutella, and my ginger cake concoction does the trick, but it lacks the spicy snap that makes these cookies special. Bottom line here...these cookies didn't get all those stars and raving reviews from cutting corners, but because they're fantastic as is. So suck it up, and follow the recipe as it's supposed to be. I promise you'll thank me for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States