Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The ONLY thing that I changed about this recipe was rolling the tops of the cookies in yellow decorator sugar instead of the white granulated. They were delicious and gorgeous. An excellent recipe! I made mine smaller and baked for 7-8 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were good, but I pulled them out at seven minutes and let them sit on the rack for ten to "continue baking" because I like them to be tough on the outside and soft on the inside. I baked about 200 of these, made half of them by the recipe and the other half a little soft, and they were excellent both ways (: they are sure to be a hit at my thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachychick011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I followed directions exactly, but got very flat, un-crinkled, couldn't-even-tell-I-sprinkled-sugar-on-them cookies. Disappointed with the appearance but they are *delicious*. Also, they flatten out like crazy, (they were so gooey I couldn't even roll them in the sugar, just sprinkled the tops) so do not put more than 9 on a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have a good ginger cookie recipe (Betty Crocker Cookbook) but thought I'd try something different. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding additional spices because mine were not fresh, but these cookies just had a weird consistency. They rose in the oven and then flattened out completely. I don't know how others saw "crinkles". Disappointed, I'll stick to my other recipe or store bought from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just tweaked this recipe - - ->> replaced the 3/4 cup oil with 3/4 cup applesauce & used 1 cup white whole wheat flour plus 1 cup All purpose flour in place of 2 cups All purpose flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GanacheGuy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Doubled the spices and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
These were so easy to make, and the end results are just mouth-watering! They firm up very nicely when cooled so I can stack them into a variety of fun shapes for the kids. For Halloween I'm going to decorate them with pumpkin faces for an easy treat in between trick-or-treaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I have made these twice in one week. My family loved them so much they decided that this is our newest go to for Christmas cookies. I also made them for our church family that came back to me for seconds. GOOD GOOD GOOD Oh and a tip I tried and worked very well was spraying my hands with a little cooking spray so the dough didn't stick to me. Hope that helps and Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is amazing! (with a little bit of help). I have made the recipe three times now, and the first time I made it just as the recipe says. It was okay, but it tasted kinda bland and doughy. I highly recommend increasing the spices to 1 tsp ginger, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp cloves. And I always add a little extra molasses for good luck. I can't make them fast enough now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States