Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten! I followed the recipe exactly as written, baked them for 10 minutes at 375F and ended up with two dozen soft ginger snaps - just the way I like them! The dough was rather oily and hard to roll, but I didn't worry too much about the shape. It all evens out when they spread out during baking. I will definitely be making these again - perhaps later today when my husband and I finish off this first batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
love the ease of this recipe and the pretty cookies. i'm with those who doubled the spices. i also had to make a few substitutions since i'm in germany. i used half brown sugar and half white because the brown i'm used to from the US is hard to get here. i also had to substitute the molasses for 'goldsirup'. and, because i didn't have vegetable oil in the house, i used 1/4 cup olive oil (very mild) and 1/2 melted butter. turned out great and i certainly didn't have any problems with sticking to the pan (plus yummy butter flavor)! i also agree with the reviewer who said to put fewer cookies on the pan and bake more batches. MY secret to this recipe is to refrigerate the dough overnight. i did it the first time just because i didn't have time to bake several batches, but i've done it every time since because the cookies were prettier, the dough was easier to make into balls, and, the best part, the spices intensify and harmonize. i will definitely continue to experiment with these because the base recipe is so easy and consistently good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are the best ever! So soft and chewy! I have made this recipe about 10 times now. I am asked to bring these to our holiday gatherings a few times each year. I make it exactly how is is written with the exception of using olive oil because that is what we always have in the house. I have also made gluten free version with great success. I make them small, about 2 inches in diameter. They are soft and chewy and slightly thick in the center if the dough is refrigerated slightly before rolling. If the dough sits out too long they can come out a little flat. These freeze well but nothing beats a fresh one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandxxx
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Gorgeous taste and they look beautiful. They're not as crisp as i would have liked though. Will still definitely bake again though. Thank you for the recipe xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Fabulous is an understatement. These are amazing cookies. I thought I liked ginger snaps, but all I've ever eaten were grocery store cookies. I will never eat another grocery store ginger snap. These are crisp, tender and the sweet spicy taste is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Wand Sidell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stepmomster
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is pretty easy. The cookies came out well and my kids really liked them. They're not super crunchy or thick, but that might have to do with the climate of the area, always humid. My one gripe is that I doubled the amount of spices, per other reviewers, but I really didn't think they had that nice ginger snap spicy taste. I wanted to make this as a more grown up cookie recipe, but it seemed like a milder version, one that kids will really like. I did substitute Karo's dark corn syrup because I didn't have molasses, so I'm not sure if that would really affect the recipe. Anyway, if making this recipe, make sure to bake for only 8 minutes if at 375 degrees, otherwise instead of crunchy, you get a slightly burnt taste on the bottom of your cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just made this recipe. The only thing I changed was just putting sugar on top of the cookies so the "sweet" wasn't overpowering. I made these cookies for a class which is why I didn't go for a "spicy" cookie. Instead I left the amount of spices as is. But, if you like that holiday spice then double the spices to double your pleasure! As is, the recipes is AMAZING and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mosokat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were AMAZING. I wish I had cloves though, they might have tasted a bit better but I still loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I love these ginger snaps. They are soft in the middle and crisp on the outside. The flavor is very much what I expect from a ginger snap and they are easy to make! I like that this recipe uses NO BUTTER and can very easily be converted to a vegan recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe and doubled the spices as suggested. These did not turn out at all! The taste, texture, appearance are all so disappointing. They did not crackle, are flat, the sugar is not visible on the top, are tasteless and dry! I've made perfect cakes in my oven, yet these...! I cooked for 7 min the first batch and 8 min the second batch to see if this would help the top crackle. My 2nd batch was burnt after only a minute longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shorthoneys
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States