Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I read the reviews before making these and made 2 batches, 1 where i added extra spices as a lot of people suggested and 1 following the recipe as is. I have to say I really liked them better without the added spices. this is the perfect cookie. Super easy to make, you dont have to chill dough etc. they came out perfect and pretty. I was making them for a fiesta party so i iced them with a chocolate chili buttercream. They were amazing and a hit everyone loved them. One thing though, I did not roll them in sugar, they were perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Added half again as much of each of the spices. Worked great! Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was just what I was looking for. They are the classic ginger snap cookie -- just how I remembered eating them as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very quick and easy to make. Yummy the day made but become harder next day (just the way we like them!). Doubled the cloves, cinnamon & ginger per other users; substituted approx. 1/2 c. coconut oil then topped off with canola oil to make 2/3 c. of oil; used dark brown sugar. Did NOT put the decorator sugar on the cookies. Next time will try with half whole wheat flour. This is now one of my fave cookie recipes. Love that I can make them spur of the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
People who like gingersnaps, like these ones. Missing a star because I do higher quantities of the spices. As is they are less exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made the recipe as is, and we all though it was quite yummy! The second time I reduced the oil to 2/3C to cut down on the fat, and noticed no difference in the result. I haven't played with doubling the amount of spices because here in Spain they are hard to come by!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten! I followed the recipe exactly as written, baked them for 10 minutes at 375F and ended up with two dozen soft ginger snaps - just the way I like them! The dough was rather oily and hard to roll, but I didn't worry too much about the shape. It all evens out when they spread out during baking. I will definitely be making these again - perhaps later today when my husband and I finish off this first batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
love the ease of this recipe and the pretty cookies. i'm with those who doubled the spices. i also had to make a few substitutions since i'm in germany. i used half brown sugar and half white because the brown i'm used to from the US is hard to get here. i also had to substitute the molasses for 'goldsirup'. and, because i didn't have vegetable oil in the house, i used 1/4 cup olive oil (very mild) and 1/2 melted butter. turned out great and i certainly didn't have any problems with sticking to the pan (plus yummy butter flavor)! i also agree with the reviewer who said to put fewer cookies on the pan and bake more batches. MY secret to this recipe is to refrigerate the dough overnight. i did it the first time just because i didn't have time to bake several batches, but i've done it every time since because the cookies were prettier, the dough was easier to make into balls, and, the best part, the spices intensify and harmonize. i will definitely continue to experiment with these because the base recipe is so easy and consistently good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are the best ever! So soft and chewy! I have made this recipe about 10 times now. I am asked to bring these to our holiday gatherings a few times each year. I make it exactly how is is written with the exception of using olive oil because that is what we always have in the house. I have also made gluten free version with great success. I make them small, about 2 inches in diameter. They are soft and chewy and slightly thick in the center if the dough is refrigerated slightly before rolling. If the dough sits out too long they can come out a little flat. These freeze well but nothing beats a fresh one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandxxx
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Gorgeous taste and they look beautiful. They're not as crisp as i would have liked though. Will still definitely bake again though. Thank you for the recipe xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States