Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic cookie. Followed recipe exactly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious! I wasn't sure about the dough since it seemed so sticky and a little runny, I added a little more flour and they're amazing! Perfect for the holidays. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I had read the reviews earlier and decided to make this recipe for my family's Christmas cookies. I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I doubled the spices, as suggested by several reviewers. They came out perfect! They are delicious and crisp and crackled perfectly on the outside. They are crisp on the outsdide and yet chewy on the inside. They have a really delicious, "buttery" taste. These are really wonderful and are now my new go-to recipe. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
these are great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were perfect! I followed the recipe exactly (I always do on my first attempt). I baked them for 11 mins and had a nice firm, not hard, outer 'shell' and they were a nice soft, but not mushy, interior. I didn't do the icing just b/c I wasn't in the mood. I rolled them in sugar and baked them on a Silpat and had no problem with sticking. The sugar makes a nice subtle decoration on their own. And I love the way these 'crackle' - beautiful :) Delish and fragrant! Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamMurphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I'm making them now and I gotta say, they are not perfect. I read a reviewer who used honey when she didn't have molasses so I did that as well upon discovering I was out of molasses. Maybe that's why they're flat a pennies with no crackling? Anyway, they taste good enough so I'm not faulting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I did not change a thing in this recipe - there is no need to, as these cookies are perfect as they are - richly spiced, crisp on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. One of the best cookies I've ever had, and I recommend you make this recipe as is before tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these cookies for Christmas last year, they were fantastic, CRISPY, CRUNCHY, gingery goodness! These cookies are a true snap. I got many compliments on the cookies that made it to the gift trays.... cookie gremlins in my kitchen. The only thing I changed was pressing them with a cinnamon sugar coated flat bottom glass. They spread into a wonderfully large cookie, and looked so beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Nyquist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Fessenden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are the best ginger cookies I've made. I think the secret is the oil; the other recipes I have use shortening or butter. Even though the dough is soft, it doesn't stick to your fingers when you're rolling the balls. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the spices. I used parchment-lined cookie sheets, made the cookies a little smaller than directed and baked for 8-9 minutes. My best results were with an insulated cookie sheet. The best part is that these take so little time to make! Everyone has raved over them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made these today - didn't change a thing except baked them on parchment paper for 9 minutes only. They are true Ginger Snaps...spicy, flavorful and they SNAP when you bite into them!! I rolled them in red, green and blue sugar sprinkles for Christmas and they look great - something different and a nice addition to all the chocolate and peppermint cookies and candy I make for the holidays. I printed this recipe to save with my holiday ones, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States