Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Fantastic cookies. Chewy and they always turn out. Sometimes I make them with fresh grated ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Stop right there! I know what you're thinking... "I can substitute this for that, and then take this out or add that and it will be just as good." No it won't, so cut that out. If you're anything like me, you have to make a recipe your own, and that's exactly where I failed here. I recently discovered using apple sauce in lieu of oil/butter, and it worked fantastically in a recent banana bread, but not so much here. I couldn't find any definitive info about using apple sauce in cookies, but I'm here to tell you DON'T DO IT, unless you want mini cookie shaped cakes, with less flavor. I used 1/4 c sauce + 1/2 c oil, and it's just not working out. Honestly, all I wanted was a vessel on which to eat nutella, and my ginger cake concoction does the trick, but it lacks the spicy snap that makes these cookies special. Bottom line here...these cookies didn't get all those stars and raving reviews from cutting corners, but because they're fantastic as is. So suck it up, and follow the recipe as it's supposed to be. I promise you'll thank me for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Light and crispy. Perfect amount of spice & great for dipping! I'm happy to say I kept these small as the directions say to. I did not have molasses in the house and used honey instead otherwise stuck to the recipe. Perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsScarlettOhara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We made these for Christmas and added a dash of Chimayo red chile powder and they were wonderful! With the homemade eggnog from this site it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecinaj

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is the BEST ginger snap recipe I've found, it has to be very close to my grandmother's. I was happy to find they still do well at high altitude (Denver.) I REALLY like the spices used, so I doubled them. It was a wonderful extremely flavorful treat but not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Weimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great old fashioned ginger snap! Some hints: * Pour the 3/4 cup of oil into a measuring cup, then add the molasses to the 1 cup line, That way, when you pour it out, none of the molasses will stick to the measuring cup. * Sift the dry ingredients together to mix the spices in well. * Only sugar the top half of the cookies so they don't stick on the pan. Yellow decorator sugar looks prettier than granular sugar. * Don't over bake. My slightly smaller (3 1/2/ doz yield) cookies took 10 minutes. * I didn't have cloves and substituted allspice. They were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Best I have made! Even better than those I've bought in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evessia Ridley
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made three small changes and was rewarded with the best ginger snaps I've ever tasted. First, I used dark brown sugar. Next, I added about 1/2 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger to the flour mixture. Lastly, I rolled the cookies in turbinado sugar (Sugar in the Raw) which added a little more molasses flavor and extra crunch due to the larger crystals. Baked for 10 minutes on parchment, cooled 5 minutes then transferred to a rack to cool completely. Hubby ate four before I could get them into the cookie jar. This will be our only ginger snap cookie recipe from now on. Many thanks to Elaine for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
very good recipe nice n soft and everyone loves them. you really have to pay attention to them baking as they will blacken on the bottom very easily but that is a cookie for you. A1 treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States