Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I like spicy, so I DOUBLED all of the spices and used grated, fresh, baby ginger, doubling that too. I used real butter instead of oil. I rolled them in walnut sized balls and cooked on parchment paper for 12 minutes, checking them after 10 minutes. After cooling, they were soft-crispy on the edges and soft in the center. I prefer a crispy cookie, but am scared of cooking them too long since some reviews said they came out hard. Perhaps this is more avoidable using butter, so before pulling the next batch out of the oven, I may cook them an extra minute. They crackled perfectly on top, just like in the picture. Using parchment paper so they didn't stick to the pan was a no-brainer since they are rolled in sugar....Yielded 40 cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpate2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I don't have a standing mixer so I HATE creaming butter and sugar. This recipe is a total keeper!! Yum! I did double the spices but that's cause I like these cookies extra snappy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
With so many stars I was hoping for a better cookie. I made them without any modifications and found them to be bland. I ended up adding a little cinnamon glaze to the top of them, which helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vparize
Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yum!! These are fantastic. I substituted allspice for the cloves and doubled the spices. I followed what some others suggested and made the dough balls about walnut sized, then baked for 14 minutes and cooled on the baking sheet for a perfect dunking ginger snap! Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Heaven and angels sing! Quite possibly the best cookie I've ever made. Like another reviewer, I doubled the cinnamon and ginger, and baked on parchment paper. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Doubling the spices and substituting butter for oil makes these much tastier. Wish I had *MY* mother's recipe; I've never been able to figure out what extra something made them so delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
so delicious, best ginger snaps ever! my tip for more of a bite to your ginger snap is to add a 1/2 tsp of black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
excellent recipe, they can cook less than 12 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Made these for a special friend who LOVES ginger snaps. He is suffering from lung cancer and I felt it would be a neat way to express my feelings since I just don't have words. Now I have to hurry and deliver them before my husband and I eat them all. Delicious AND easy to make. Stuck to the recipe and will make them again without any changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States