Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
these are great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were perfect! I followed the recipe exactly (I always do on my first attempt). I baked them for 11 mins and had a nice firm, not hard, outer 'shell' and they were a nice soft, but not mushy, interior. I didn't do the icing just b/c I wasn't in the mood. I rolled them in sugar and baked them on a Silpat and had no problem with sticking. The sugar makes a nice subtle decoration on their own. And I love the way these 'crackle' - beautiful :) Delish and fragrant! Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamMurphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I'm making them now and I gotta say, they are not perfect. I read a reviewer who used honey when she didn't have molasses so I did that as well upon discovering I was out of molasses. Maybe that's why they're flat a pennies with no crackling? Anyway, they taste good enough so I'm not faulting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I did not change a thing in this recipe - there is no need to, as these cookies are perfect as they are - richly spiced, crisp on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. One of the best cookies I've ever had, and I recommend you make this recipe as is before tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these cookies for Christmas last year, they were fantastic, CRISPY, CRUNCHY, gingery goodness! These cookies are a true snap. I got many compliments on the cookies that made it to the gift trays.... cookie gremlins in my kitchen. The only thing I changed was pressing them with a cinnamon sugar coated flat bottom glass. They spread into a wonderfully large cookie, and looked so beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Nyquist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Fessenden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are the best ginger cookies I've made. I think the secret is the oil; the other recipes I have use shortening or butter. Even though the dough is soft, it doesn't stick to your fingers when you're rolling the balls. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the spices. I used parchment-lined cookie sheets, made the cookies a little smaller than directed and baked for 8-9 minutes. My best results were with an insulated cookie sheet. The best part is that these take so little time to make! Everyone has raved over them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made these today - didn't change a thing except baked them on parchment paper for 9 minutes only. They are true Ginger Snaps...spicy, flavorful and they SNAP when you bite into them!! I rolled them in red, green and blue sugar sprinkles for Christmas and they look great - something different and a nice addition to all the chocolate and peppermint cookies and candy I make for the holidays. I printed this recipe to save with my holiday ones, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made these cookies exactly by the recipe and they were wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I doubled the cinnamon & ginger and only sugared the tops. Lightly sprayed the pan and baked 7 mins at 350 for small ones. Made some bigger ones (3" across) for giving friends and baked them 9 mins. They're perfectly soft and fun to bite into. Heaven! Double the recipe, because you'll want more! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
As is, it is terrific. I do like a cup of chopped crystallized ginger added, but that is just me. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States