Mom's Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I followed the recipe and these came out perfect! Great flavor and they are so nice and crunchy. This is one of my new favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINKRBELL23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Too Good to be true! After unsuccessful purchase after purchase of 'tripe ginger' 'organic ginger snaps' and the list goes on... This is the best hands down! I think this should satisfy any Ginger Snap Critic! I should know ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Amazing though I did take the advice of others & amped up the spices to 1 1/2 tsp for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
These are amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter and they lasted about 20 minutes at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is an excellent BASE recipe. It can easily be tailored. However, as it is, it delivers a very wet cookie dough and thus a chewy, thin, delicious texture once baked. Here are some of my changes ( since I really LOVE spicy gingerbread cookies ): - I amped up the spices (1.5 tsp of cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger ) - I added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it that bite - I added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter - I baked it for a little bit longer to give it a bit of crisp ( to add to the chewiness ) - I made a "harder" batch ( more traditional snap ), so added 1/4 cup of flour so I can form it into soft balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Awesome, I upped the ginger to 1 1/2 tsp because the first batch tasted a bit more like cinnamon than ginger, We all agreed that the extra half tsp ginger gave it just the right amount of kick! Hubby loved them and so did our friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These gingersnaps had too much molasses in them for me :( but i admit they crackled very well and looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I like my mom's recipe better. This dough was hard to work with and not as nearly as tasty. My Mom's recipe is similar, but uses butter (1/2c.) instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
g8 recipe just as it is. don't change a thing. roll some in sugar n leave some plain to c which u prefer. otherwise it is the closest tasting to the south african ginger snaps cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States