Mom's Garbage Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
The taste of these cookies is so familiar.. I'm not sure why, but I'm thinking of junior high cooking class. :) I didn't have dates, and although I thought of substituting Craisins, I decided to just omit that ingredient. I did a half-batch, and used margarine. My mixer could handle blending all the ingredients, although the corn flakes got well-crushed (which was fine, no lumpy hard bits to bite through!). Only problem was that they really flattened out.. Tasted great (both the dough and the cookies!), and the flatness didn't bug me. In the future, I'll probably use ½ baking soda and ½ baking powder (I do that change in most cookie recipes for softer, thicker cookies), and I might try these as drop cookies next time. I WILL make these again! Thanks, lrawlins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
amazing cookies!!! they were a hit with my office. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Sue
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These were great! Just a few changes... used rice krispies instead of corn flakes (didn't have any) and butter instead of shortening. Also did not use dates. Pecans made them awesome. They went straight to the oven like drop cookies (not slice fridge ones). Enjoy!! I made these a second time w/o the oats and they came out flat, so I'd make sure you have oats. Cook at a LOWER TEMP, I did 325/350 degrees and cooked until the top no longer shines - much better. FYI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've used this recipe several times now, and have loved it every time. Try throwing in more than just chocolate chips and dates (butterscotch or peanut butter chips and raisins or other dried fruit). I've yet to discover a new ingredient that didn't work well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
YUM! I used margarine instead of butter to make them chewy, and I used Raisin Bran intead of frosted flakes and then used 1/2 cup of raisins instead of the 1 cup of dates. I didn't find them to be flat like another reviewer, so I'll stick with the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
With a bit of modification you can make these into Trashcan Cookies like to one yu can buy at Sheetz...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good. I made it with butter because i didnt have shortening, and i used 3/4 cup of each sugar. I added coconut and almond extract, they turned oit awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Still refrigerating dough rolls. Going to leave refrig rolls overnight. Dough was quite soft & sticky forming into a roll, but my kitchen was quite warm. Used margarine. Added 1 C chopped walnuts. Tried pre-toasting the walnuts and oats in 400F oven 8-10 min. Added 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, my taste preference. Otherwise rest same as recipe. Can't wait to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Aweful. I left out the nuts. The cookies were hard and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States