Mom's Favorite Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
No offense Mom (whoever you are) but this meatloaf is simply bla! No salt? no pepper? no celery? no garlic? and of all things, onion dip? What is wrong with real onions? Plain crackers can be ok for filler but seasoned bread crumbs are much better. Any good cook be them a chef or just a home cook, always uses the three basic ingredients in most all meat dishes, salt, pepper, and garlic. Without them simply the taste of unseasoned ground meat just doesn't cut it. Sorry but there's really room to improve this basic flavorless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I made this meatloaf for kids who swore they would never like any kind of meatloaf and they devoured it. It is very easy to make and isn't bogged down with too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This pleased the whole family. Choose a very flavorful sausage as well as a favorite dip and this gets very tasty. The saltines provide plenty of salt. I used 2 sleeves of crackers and it was just right - the meatloaf was firm but not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This was a great, simple, satisfying meatloaf. The seasoning was perfect. No additional salt, pepper, or other seasoning is needed, since the sausage and the dip mix are loaded with all three. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Its on the soft side (I should have used more crackers), but really good with HOT pork sausage and ground beef! The sandwiches the next day were...Oh my god! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
OUT OF THIS WORLD! Makes good meatballs, too--lose lots of the fat by baking them on a wire rack so the grease drips into the pan below. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My meatloaf was for only 2 people, so I made half a recipe. Very tasty! But your recipe has too many calories. I changed it by adding 1/2 red pepper chopped; 3/4 small white onion chopped; and used only 10 saltine crackers. Will likely use only beef next time, also. 4 STARS!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pacific Palisades, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
The family really enjoyed this recipe. I made slight modifications to suit our tastes: 1 additional egg, 4 slices of toasted whole wheat bread instead of saltines, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper. It turned out great and everyone went back for seconds. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have made almost the same meatloaf for years...I use a package of onion soup mix instead of the french onion dip...my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family loved this recipe -- it fed two adults, one teen, and 4 children with leftovers!! They hate any kind of "chunks", i.e., onions, green peppers, so onion soup (I just put onion powder and a bit of beef boullion bits in it) is great. I added garlic powder and salt and pepper as well, and only had "Ritz" type crackers on hand - but was really good. Update: made this again recently. Instead of the dip mix I used garlic powder; onion salt; seasoned salt (maybe 1/2 tsp each of salts). 2# ground beef (no sausage); same amt eggs; 1/2 cup or so italian bread crumbs. It was the most flavorful meatloaf we've ever had. Update again! Made meatballs that were awesome!! using orig recipe with my corrections!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States