Mom's Favorite Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Added some chopped onion at hubby's request. Son who "hates" meatloaf , loved this. Made in 9 inch round pans and iced with mashed potatoes for April Fools Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Found this recipe 6 months ago. My family LOVED it. We make it once a week. I have made a few adjustments. We are not fond of onion soup mix so I use hidden valley ranch dip mixes. We also use ritz crackers. Sometimes I put mozzerella cheese in the middle and sometimes I put slices of bacon across the top. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I took the advice of some of the other reviews and changed things up a little. I used whole wheat saltine crackers, added celery, onion and some spices. Also I used a bit more sausage than beef. I also took some marble cheese and stuck it in random places throughout the loaf before cooking then coated it in a sweet BBQ sauce. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It was good-ish, maybe better as a breakfast meat. As a dinner meat, it was kinda dry. Maybe it could be enhanced with Wooster sauce, another egg, medium-heat sausage or another spice. We won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe fit the bill for my entire family and we have some finicky eaters. I ground up my own pork from the last of the hog we bought last year. I mixed sleeves of saltines and Ritz. I did add a touch of buttermilk to aid the eggs in binding. I doubled the recipe in anticipation of meatloaf sandwiches and everyone is looking forward to those tomorrow. Thank you for providing a quick and affordable recipe, esp. great for busy moms (and dads).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acmemom1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My meatloaf was for only 2 people, so I made half a recipe. Very tasty! But your recipe has too many calories. I changed it by adding 1/2 red pepper chopped; 3/4 small white onion chopped; and used only 10 saltine crackers. Will likely use only beef next time, also. 4 STARS!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pacific Palisades, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was great! I'm lucky that my family already likes meatloaf but I like to try new things often. I added salt and pepper (you can do that you know...lol) and the ingredients were really simple to understand. This recipie is a no brainer and a winner in my book! way to go mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
The family really enjoyed this recipe. I made slight modifications to suit our tastes: 1 additional egg, 4 slices of toasted whole wheat bread instead of saltines, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper. It turned out great and everyone went back for seconds. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have made almost the same meatloaf for years...I use a package of onion soup mix instead of the french onion dip...my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
We LOVED this recipe!! We used a Hot pork sausage and wheat club crackers. I was afraid that it would be to spicy because of the hot sausage, but it blended with the beef and came out perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States