Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This recipe is ok. Its a good starter recipe. I might make it again but next time will leave the onion out. With the onion left it, all it tasted like was onions and I made the recipe as stated. Onion should never be in Mac and Cheese, to bad I learned the hard way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
We made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was really a hit. Definitely the best home-made mac & cheese I've ever tasted. Can't wait for an excuse to make it again. The sauce turned out incredibly well and it baked beautifully. The only thing I would change next time is to cover it for the first half of the cooking, as it got a little dry -- nothing major. The only adjustment we made was to the types of cheeses. We made it with 8 oz white cheddar, 8 oz sharp yellow cheddar, and about 4 oz of mozzerella for smoothness. This blend of cheeses really had a nice bite to it. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I feel priveledged to be the first to rate this recipe!! I truly loved it, and I am a mac and cheese connoisseur. VERY IMPRESSED! To use Velveeta AND sharp cheddar, made for a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is the best recipe for Mac&Cheese! It's easy, it doesn't take a long time to prepare and it's cheap! I love it because the taste is so authentic! It's better than my mom's Mac&Cheese! (Sorry!) And you can add/vary the recipe. For example, I didn't use the onions,and I added 1/2 cup of Colby cheese along with the Sharp Cheddar(NY) and American Cheeses, then put bread crumbs on top when I baked it. It was (is) delicious! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe for creamy baked mac and cheese. I had a 16 oz package of elbow macaroni, so to double the sauce, I used the same amount of flour but doubled the butter and added about 3/4 more cheese. I didn't bother slicing the American cheese into strips, just chunked it into the saucepan to melt. I also didn't use sharp cheddar since I'm pregnant and find sharp cheddar too greasy lately, but a shredded mild cheddar / monterey Jack mix did the trick. The finished product was a cheesy macaroni with a thick, creamy sauce. Although I didn't try it, I'm sure this recipe would be great with a bread crumb topping. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Ok, I made this for a group of 32, including myself. I had my doubts about it while making it, but I've got to tell you, the finished product wowed everyone, including myself. Next I'm going to add ham to it, as well as a bread crumb top. I gave it four stars and will certainly be making it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This recipe is absolutely delicious and is quite easy to make. It was just as wonderful 2 days later when I reheated it in the microwave then stirred in a small amount of milk. The only bad review of this recipe mentioned tomatoes, so I am guessing that she gave a bad rating to the wrong recipe. If you're looking for a tasty but easy mac and cheese recipe you must give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
i made this on easter and everyone complimented me on it! it is perfect baked mac and cheese - not as creamy as the stovetop kind but it's not supposed to be. it had a mild flavor that i really liked, and it wasn't dry at all. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This mac and cheese was a hit at my potluck! It was the only mac and cheese dish that ended the evening empty! I did use three cheeses; a shredded mexican mix, some cubed velveeta, and some american cheese (all combined to be the amount in the recipe still). It turned out very well and was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this dish for family dinner tonight and it was amazing! My mom, dad, and sister went crazy for it. I made a few changes, including switching processed American cheese for Mozzarella and adding some crushed up crackers on top. I baked the dish covered for thirty minutes and then added the crackers and baked uncovered for 10 minutes. Also I used almost an entire 16 oz package of macaroni. With just 8 oz, it looked like cheese soup with some noodles in it. If you want your mac and cheese EXTREMELY creamy, I guess that's good. Even with almost 16 oz of pasta, the dish was still very creamy and not dry at all. I plan on making this for a graduation party we're having in a week and I'm very excited to see how it turns out. I plan on playing around with different measurements of both regular cheddar, sharp white cheddar, and mozzarella. This recipe is a great base for a delicious dish. -- Update: I baked this dish for our BBQ and it was a HIT! I doubled the recipe and even then it was all gone by the end of the party. This time I used (proportionally) 1/2 sharp white cheddar, 1/4 regular cheddar, and 1/4 mozzarella. It was amazing! I also doubled the pasta again this time. I used almost 32 ounces of pasta, leaving about enough out for a regular sized bowl of pasta (probably a couple ounces). Baked it for about 45 minutes covered, then took the top off, added crushed crackers, and baked for another 10 minutes. Man, I will be making this dish my whole life! It is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palhacinha92

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States