Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
i've made this recipe a few times now, and i absolutely love it. it's super, super easy, and doesn't take much time at all. i've made it for friends multiple times and they all rave about it. i didn't change anything about the recipe, it's great as is. :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
If you are looking for a lactose free or vegan friendly version I recommend the following changes: 1 lbs package of elbow macaroni 1 block (7.1 oz) of Daiya Cheddar, cut into strips 1 cup of Daiya Mozzarella, shredded I subtracted the onion and added breadcrumbs to the top before baking. Otherwise I followed the instructions as listed above and it was amazing. Being lactose intolerant has made it really hard to have the comfort foods I grew up with, but those little tweaks this recipe was perfect! One problem with cheese substitutes is that the artificial cheese flavor it much too strong. By using slightly less and cutting the cheddar with the mozzarella it was like eating REAL mac and cheese! This is going to be a staple food in my household from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
To all reviewers who left out the onion, you are missing out on the depth of flavour it adds to mac & cheese. It did not taste 'oniony' at all. I had a bunch of cheese that I wanted to use up, so I added a 1 pound mix of old cheddar, Monterey Jack and fruilano. I also covered the dish with foil for the first half of baking to keep it creamy. The top turned nice and golden in the last 15 minutes. We just loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I left the onion out because I just have a personal opinion that onion doesn't belong in mac & cheese. I couldn't find "American" cheese other than American cheese slices(which are a cheese "product") so I used velveeta. In doing so, I probably didn't need the roux. I used half 2% milk & 1/2 half & half. I would NOT recommend doing that unless you like your mac & cheese so rich & thick you could use it for wallpaper glue :) Flavor is good. I think I'll make this again, using all milk & no flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Flavor does not come up to what you would expect from the labor that goes into it. There are simpler recipes that have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I really liked this. My first time making homemade mac and cheese. I think this is a keeper. I thought it wasn't enough macaroni at first, but once you bake it, it really comes together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I was told about this recipe by a coworker and I thought "how special can this be? It's only mac n cheese". Well it's amazing. We love it. It's so versatile, we can add just about anything to it and it's always good. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Finally I found a receipt that is like I use to eat when I was a kid some 60 yrs. ago. My wife loves it as well. excellent , 10 plus. For taste and ease of preparation. Bobvz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was excellent! The only thing I changed was eliminating the onions. My father said it was better than Stoufers. I used block cheese that I shredded myself since it melts much better. If you do that, 8 ounces of block cheese equals 2 cups shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Yummy!! We really like this and I have made it a few times now, tonight I doubled it, per my family so there is left-overs! I didnt add the onion as two boys here dont like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States