Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is very similar to the one I grew up with and have been trying to replicate for many years. My husband couldn't stop making yummy noises while he ate it. Would give it 10 stars if I could. Because we love onion, I did alter the recipe slightly by adding more onion - either way, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this Mac & Cheese and it is the bestest (the words of a 10 year old). My son said it was great and I should make it this way all the time. This was moist and cheesy and just fabulous! I even shared the receipe with another lady in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
i've made this recipe a few times now, and i absolutely love it. it's super, super easy, and doesn't take much time at all. i've made it for friends multiple times and they all rave about it. i didn't change anything about the recipe, it's great as is. :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
If you are looking for a lactose free or vegan friendly version I recommend the following changes: 1 lbs package of elbow macaroni 1 block (7.1 oz) of Daiya Cheddar, cut into strips 1 cup of Daiya Mozzarella, shredded I subtracted the onion and added breadcrumbs to the top before baking. Otherwise I followed the instructions as listed above and it was amazing. Being lactose intolerant has made it really hard to have the comfort foods I grew up with, but those little tweaks this recipe was perfect! One problem with cheese substitutes is that the artificial cheese flavor it much too strong. By using slightly less and cutting the cheddar with the mozzarella it was like eating REAL mac and cheese! This is going to be a staple food in my household from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
To all reviewers who left out the onion, you are missing out on the depth of flavour it adds to mac & cheese. It did not taste 'oniony' at all. I had a bunch of cheese that I wanted to use up, so I added a 1 pound mix of old cheddar, Monterey Jack and fruilano. I also covered the dish with foil for the first half of baking to keep it creamy. The top turned nice and golden in the last 15 minutes. We just loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I left the onion out because I just have a personal opinion that onion doesn't belong in mac & cheese. I couldn't find "American" cheese other than American cheese slices(which are a cheese "product") so I used velveeta. In doing so, I probably didn't need the roux. I used half 2% milk & 1/2 half & half. I would NOT recommend doing that unless you like your mac & cheese so rich & thick you could use it for wallpaper glue :) Flavor is good. I think I'll make this again, using all milk & no flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Flavor does not come up to what you would expect from the labor that goes into it. There are simpler recipes that have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Micheal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I really liked this. My first time making homemade mac and cheese. I think this is a keeper. I thought it wasn't enough macaroni at first, but once you bake it, it really comes together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I was told about this recipe by a coworker and I thought "how special can this be? It's only mac n cheese". Well it's amazing. We love it. It's so versatile, we can add just about anything to it and it's always good. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Finally I found a receipt that is like I use to eat when I was a kid some 60 yrs. ago. My wife loves it as well. excellent , 10 plus. For taste and ease of preparation. Bobvz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States