Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I have been making this recipe for at least 3 yrs now, and it has become a family favorite. I have also made it for several church functions and I never bring any home. I took the advice of several and never use the onion. I also eliminate the salt because we feel the cheese is salty enough. I use Velveeta for the American and I don't always buy sharp, sometimes, half sharp and half mild. I guess bread crumbs would look nice, but I don't need any extra calories and I'm not sure my picky grandsons would eat them, so I don't bother. I have also made this the night before I need it, refridgerated it, and adjusted the length of time it baked. An all around good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was pretty good, although the velveeta I used was a bit overpowering to the cheddar. It was a little soupy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this for two Thanksgiving dinners and Christmas dinners with my friends and it literally disappeared in minutes, even in a 9 x 12 pan. I prefer to pour the drained macaroni into the pot with the cheese sauce, mix them together well, and then pour the whole concoction into the pan. At first, I mashed butter crackers and mixed them with melted butter to sprinkle over top, but now I just cover the top with shredded cheddar cheese. Also because I live in Asia where many western ingredients are either hard to find or prohibitively expensive, instead of using dried mustard, I used a teaspoonful of dijon mustard with coarse mustard seeds the second time I made this which made it even more popular than the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImaniOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Everybody loves this recipe expecially my picky eaters. They even had seconds. I added pepper jack cheese which really made the taste pop.... Have made three times for others whom tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
If you like really thick mac and cheese you will like this, i happen to like mine much thinner. Sorry but this ones not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I left out the onion and substituted 6 slices of smoke gouda for the American -- we left the edge/wax on, but will probably remove that next time. It had a great smoky flavor, and was some of the best mac & cheese I've *ever* had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good! I doubled the recipe but kept the same amount of flour, as one reviewer did. And I am very glad I took another reviewer's suggestion to add more macaroni....I used two full boxes of medium shells, and I may have been able to use more. The sauce was very smooth and creamy, and everyone enjoyed it. My only addition was crushed, buttered Ritz crackers, which I believe not only added to the presentation but also kept the top from drying out. Thanks for a very good mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
fantastic!!! perfect just as it is! 5-star review before i added chopped steamed broccoli and a layer of shredded cheese on top, to add some cheesy greens for the kids. they were able to dig through to the yummy goodness beneath, but i feel ok that they still were able to eat something that had green on it!! thank you for the solid recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Just tried this recipe and loved it! My family tells me this is one of the best they have ever had. This will be a regular from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy197p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this a couple of weeks ago for my husband who is a mac and cheese fanatic, he said it is the best he has ever had. I did make a couple of substitutions though, used goat milk cheddar and goat cheese(soft). So guess what he wants me to make tonight.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States