Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
If you like really thick mac and cheese you will like this, i happen to like mine much thinner. Sorry but this ones not for me. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I left out the onion and substituted 6 slices of smoke gouda for the American -- we left the edge/wax on, but will probably remove that next time. It had a great smoky flavor, and was some of the best mac & cheese I've *ever* had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was very good! I doubled the recipe but kept the same amount of flour, as one reviewer did. And I am very glad I took another reviewer's suggestion to add more macaroni....I used two full boxes of medium shells, and I may have been able to use more. The sauce was very smooth and creamy, and everyone enjoyed it. My only addition was crushed, buttered Ritz crackers, which I believe not only added to the presentation but also kept the top from drying out. Thanks for a very good mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
fantastic!!! perfect just as it is! 5-star review before i added chopped steamed broccoli and a layer of shredded cheese on top, to add some cheesy greens for the kids. they were able to dig through to the yummy goodness beneath, but i feel ok that they still were able to eat something that had green on it!! thank you for the solid recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Just tried this recipe and loved it! My family tells me this is one of the best they have ever had. This will be a regular from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy197p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this a couple of weeks ago for my husband who is a mac and cheese fanatic, he said it is the best he has ever had. I did make a couple of substitutions though, used goat milk cheddar and goat cheese(soft). So guess what he wants me to make tonight.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe three times and have yet to eat any. Everytime it's served, it the first thing gone. This time I'm making my own portion and keeping it hidden. FYI. Add lobster. Awesome...................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Made half this recipe to try it out for a party I'm having w/ a mac n' cheese bar. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I was surprised how delicious this turned out to be! It has such a nice flavor and texture - it's not too stiff. I think the onions really makes the flavor so wonderful. The only thing that was weird was that mine had a filmy crust on top of that was not so attractive. Wonder if I did something wrong or if there's something I can do to change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I had high hopes for finding my ideal Mac & Cheese but,sadly, this did not turn out to be it. My ideal is very creamy with a nice tang from added mustard and/or sharp cheddar cheese, and with no added meat or veggies. I doubled this recipe and did substitute Velveeta for the packaged American cheese. The cheddar I used was a good quality Sharp Cheddar. Before spooning into the pan to bake I tasted it and found it needing more mustard (for my taste). I stirred in an additional 1/4 teaspoon of dry mustard and baked as directed. I did not over-bake this. I found the resulting casserole to be on the dry, pasty side and still needing more oomph . . . from more mustard and or more cheddar. I concede that our college freshman daughter and her six friends seemed to like it well enough, though. As for myself, I'm back on the hunt for a richer, creamier version. I'm sure this is just a personal preference problem on my part, and not a faulty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Loved it! And so much better for the kids than the store bought stuff. I made it as stated except, I sprinkled panko crumbs on top before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YesterdaysChild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hay River, Northwest Territories, Canada
Living In: Russell, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States