Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I just won my work's Pasta Cook Off (yesterday!) with this recipe!! Super easy to make (I was almost asleep on my feet by the time I made it) and doesn't require any weird/expensive/hard to find ingredients! I made a few changes - I forgot to buy onion so I made it without. Let the butter melt in the pan and just added flour, etc. I went to Target and in the milk/cheese aisle, I got the cheap blocks of Target brand cheese - 8 oz block of each as follows (NOTE: I doubled my recipe to 12 servings): Monterey Jack, Colby Jack, Sharp Cheddar, Provolone When it came time to add the cheese I thought 'there's no way I need all this!' but MAN am I glad I added all that was recommended! I didn't use dry mustard - I've never bought it in my life and wasn't about to spend $2.50+ on something I needed a tsp of, so I just squirted the right amount of mustard from a bottle in my fridge. And due to making this the night before and not wanting it to dry out - once everything was ready to bake, I covered the pan with tinfoil and then sealed it with the lid that came with the pan and put it in the fridge overnight. I got up early the next morning, took the covers off and popped that baby in the oven. Covered it again, with tinfoil, for about half the bake time. Finished by changing the setting to broil (I had added a bag of sharp cheddar cheese as topping) and let it darken. The pan sat in a warmer for a few hours at work before the party - but it was still cheesy and delicious! I won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is a really well put together recipe (and there were too many to choose from!)) and the ingredients sounded yummy. I tried it out and it turned out delicious! But I did make a few changes: added in 3-4 cloves of crushed garlic to the onion when I sautéed it; used half portions of sharp cheddar & gouda cheese. Grated box of kraft cheese rather than cut the strips AND mixed parmesan cheese with the panko topping. It was all good - 4 types of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this exactly as stated, I think! I wasn't sure what processed American cheese meant, so I used Velveeta as I saw others used it too. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I thought it was great & everyone loved it! It's easy to make too. I will definitely make it again. Thanks! P.S. had leftovers the next day and this was even better tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. It has a very unappealing texture. I was looking for a somewhat dry Mac n cheese. I even bought Boars Head cheese to make this and grated it myself instead of getting the pre-grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I'm not a Mac n' Cheese fan at all, but one of my good friends absolutely loves it. I'd never made homemade mac n' cheese before, but thought I'd give this a try at a dinner party I was throwing where I invited said friend. It was extremely easy to make and my friend absolutely loved it! I will definitely be making this again for any mac n' cheese loving friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Yum!!! Before baking, my husband thought the onion taste was a little too prevalent but after topping with more cheese and baking, it was perfect! It tastes very familiar, perhaps something I've had at a restaurant. Made exactly as directed and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe!! I have been searching for a Mac in cheese recipe that was flavorful and easy to make and this recipe was perfect. My son is a picky eater and he devours it (onions and all). I did make one small adjustment...I sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on the top before baking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
We've made this in the past. We are gluten free, so we make the changes we need and it's just great! Only thing I add differently is mozzarella cheese (about a cup) as well as cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
While I do wish that this recipe didn't use fake cheese, it didn't have the grainy texture that a lot of recipes without the fake stuff have and it stayed pretty creamy. I used the triple cheddar with Philadelphia cream cheese added to it as well as Velveeta for the singles. I did try to use other combinations of brands but the results weren't nearly as good as with the aforementioned cheeses. Quadrupled the recipe the other night for a party and people scraped the last little bits out of the pan and many asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this recipe i make it all the time now it taste amazing. It is a 30 minute perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States