Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe is the best Mac & Cheese I have ever made. I made a couple changes for my taste. I added in some ham cubes and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Teenager Approved! My two picky teenagers loved it and went back for seconds. Very easy to make. One review said it tasted like onions but if they are chopped fine and sautéed it will not taste like onions. We even cooked up some bacon and crumbled that over the top. Next time I may add some ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe was great. The only addition I made was to add pieces of bacon into the mixture as well as bread crumbs on top. Everyone I've made this for really likes it. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I'm giving it 5 stars. I deliberately left out the velveta(I hate it).I used all sharp cheddar and doubled the recipe. Awesome. You want the pasta to be kinda swimming in the cheese sauce before baking. This one does! If not, you get dried out mac and cheese... YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I don't see how anyone can give this recipe anything but 5 stars. This is the best macaroni and cheese recipe I've ever tried!!! Absolutely amazing. I joined allrecipes just to rate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I've used this recipe so many times that I've lost count. I've never gotten complaints that it's dry. Seems to me that could be remedied by adding more milk so that it suits your tastes better. It could also be the quality of the cheese that made it dry for some. Or try baking it for less time. My daughter has been known to eat some of it before it even bakes. Also , if you're used to "fake" make & cheese, this may not be creamy enough for you. Sometimes I vary the recipe by using other cheeses such as mozzarella, pepper jack, or whatever I have on hand instead of the American cheese. Overall, this is my family's favorite Mac & cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this for a Fourth of July picnic. I left out the onion for my picky teenaged eater, and would not suggest using a breadcrumb topping because it dries the recipe out slightly. Good cafeteria-style mac and cheese that's slightly less creamy. I would also suggest doubling the macaroni to stretch out this recipe without sacrificing any quality- this is a TON of cheese! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I really liked this, and it was really easy. I wanted it really creamy, so I used mozzarella in place of American cheese, and substitutes 1/2 cup heavy cream for 1/2 cup of the milk. Very delicious, but felt it still needed "something". Like a little heat or spice. I'm not sure what I'd use...a tabasco-type product, a diced jalapeño, or chili flakes / powder. I'd LOVE a recommendation from a member!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was AMAZING. I took photos of my phone but idk how to add them here. I made modifications of course.... No onions, I used cabots extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of just sharp, and for the American cheese I used kraft singles. I baked for about 22 min, that's when it started to bubble. The bread crumbs are great and add a lot of extra flavor/kick to it, so I recommend using bread crumbs. Since I only baked 22 min, the bread crumbs were still fine and not burnt when I took it out and the cheese was creamy not dry. I made homemade once before, stovetop, and hated it, but this was the first one that really tastes homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Way too onion-y, and didn't care at all for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States