Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Wayyyy too much cheese for me! The flavor was great but I used much less shredded cheese. I doubled the recipe but left the shredded cheddar at 2 cups. Also subbed onion powder for actual onion so my kids would eat it. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Overall, pretty good. The onion and dry mustard add a nice dimension to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
No onion in Mac and Cheese ever. Purest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My whole family really enjoyed this basic mac and cheese recipe!! I have another, more 'grown-up' mac and cheese recipe that totally appeals to the adults but the kids don't like it so much, so I was looking for a great basic recipe for everyone to serve at a party. Everyone raved about it! The only thing I did different was omitted the onion as I was running short on time and my kids don't like them so much, but with the dry mustard, I don't think we missed it. I will definitely be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious! Made minor modifications and this has been a hit whenever I bring it as a potluck dish. I doubled the recipe, and used 1 tsp onion powder instead of onions. For the cheese, I used two 12 oz. bags shredded sharp cheddar, and two 12 oz. bags of Trader Joe's shredded Mozzarella/Colby Jack/Cheddar mix. I also sprinkled additional sharp cheddar cheese and Progresso Italian Flavored Breadcrumbs on top. Used a 3 quart baking dish, covered for the first 30 minutes, then uncovered for 15 mins to brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The only modification I made was that I used "Mac & cheese blend" shredded cheese in place of the shredded cheddar. It's a blend of cheddar, American and Swiss cheeses and I found it at Food Lion. My 60 year old father said it was the best Mac & cheese he'd ever had in his life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner as noted but minus the onions. This is my go to recipe for Mac & Cheese going forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a hit at out tday party! We had around 18 people so I tripled the recipe (and added a bit more pasta bc it was very cheesy) and it was way too much. Just gonna double it next time but was so easy. I also mixed Panko crumbs with some melted butter and sprinkled that on top when I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My family loved this recipe but it dried out a bit in the oven. It was perfect if you just mix the cheese mixture and the noodles together and eat it just like that. We tend to like our Mac and cheese creamer. I also substituted the cheddar cheese for Mac and cheese blend shredded cheese. My daughter said it was better than Cracker Barrel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenz
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recape has become a staple for holidays - my family goes crazy over it. A few changes I make: add mushrooms! (We love them), add cayenne and paprika for heat. This is definitely the best mac & cheese ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States