Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My husband is currently eating his fourth bowl of this stuff, no lie. I actually made the whole deal in my cast iron skillet--sauteed, simmered, added biscuits and stuck it in the oven. Turned out perfectly and made a neat presentation, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, Pam! I prepared it "exactly" as the recipe stated - the eight peoole I served it to, ranging from 4 years old to 80+ years, loved it. They thought it was better than similar dishes they've had at those "country" restauants. I've done reviews on very few recipes even though I have been visiting this site for years - and this one merits much praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Thank you for this recipe, we all liked very much and I will make it again. I did adjust the recipe slightly, I did not have any parsley and used some basil instead also I added 2 cloves of garlic chopped and sauteed with the vegetables. (it is difficult to make a dish in our house without garlic ;) I also used Bisquick drop biscuits for the crust. It is great to find a new way to use the leftover rotisserie chicken, and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CirellaFamily

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've used this site for years and never commented, but had to say but this was the best and the easiest of all the versions I've tried! I always add broccoli florets, and sliced almonds as well as a tablespoon of sherry to whatever version I use and it really enhances it. Sometimes I use a puff pastry to top. I copied those ideas from a restaurant whose pot pie was wonderful. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Loved this recipe! I used rotisserie chicken, frozen carrots, chicken stock instead of broth and doubled the stock/flour/half and half mixture. For the crust I used Pillsbury pie crust. Sooooo good!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kayenta, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was a great comfort food. I used refrigerated biscuit dough and halved them horizontally to be sure they baked through. I used frozen mixed vegetables, cooked them just a little bit before adding to chicken mixture. Used quite a bit more chicken than called for, as we like lots of meat in our casseroles/meat pies. Turned out delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good! It took a while to cook the biscuits. Next time I will either flip the biscuits over halfway through, or cook a little before I put on top. But it was a great meal. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is the best chicken pot pie I ever ate. My husband said fix it at least twice a week. It's easy and gooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband and kids really liked this! I poached individually frozen chicken breast in the broth to cook it and used the liquid to make up the sauce as directed. Didn't have thyme but used poultry seasoning. A definite make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was very good! The basic recipe is excellent, but I made a few tweaks: I crumbled and saute'd two sweet Italian sausages and mixed with the chicken. I peeled and cubed 1/2" pieces, two medium red potatoes. Par-cooked them in lightly salted water so they were almost tender. Added them to the vegetables just before adding the flour, which I increased to 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons. I had no broth so I used chicken base and added it to 3 cups water- according to pkg. instructions. I had no 1/2 and 1/2, so I used a whole can of evaporated milk. This mixture filled a 9x13" Corning-ware baking dish and I still had room for the biscuits. I made my own drop biscuits: Mix together: 2 cups flour 2 tsp. baking powder 1/4 tsp baking soda 1 tsp salt Cut in: 1/4 shortening Stir in: 1 cup buttermilk Drop over chicken mixture as stated and then bake at 400 for the 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States