Mom's Excellent Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I'm known in my family for being "adventerous" when it comes to food, and luckily this time I was. This proved to be a great recipe despite all the reviews and my children got hooked on it! I glazed the cookies with vanilla glaze (normally meant for bundt cakes) and did use 2 cups of flour as other reviwers suggested. The amount of shortening and butter was fine, considering I used a light subsitute, but I don't really think that made a difference, because the batch I made for the kids used classic butter and they loved it! Also instead of chopped walnuts, I used ground walnuts, no one in my family being big on nuts! If these cookies didn't work the first time, I would consider trying them again with the recommended changes, and I can assure you, your whle family will be begging for more! Thanks, Stacy Mae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Thank You very much for an excellent recipe. Very awesome, taste is fantastic and texture is wonderful jus like the person who submitted it. Aloha and Mahalo Henry Waiau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been making choc chip cookies for many years. My recipe is almost exactly like this one but I only use 1/2 cup shortening in mine. Just omit the butter and then they will be perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My husband loves chocolate chip cookies, and this recipe has potential if you cut out the butter flavored shortening, used 1 1/2 cups of flour, add 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar and bake these at 350 for 10 minutes vs. 375 - you'll have a much better experience.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
A little too greasy, but that's the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
more flour needed! I used 2 cups and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
They tasted delicious, but turned out too thin, especially around the edges. They were also pretty dark. I'm not a baking expert, so I wouldn't know what to suggest..but from the other reviews, I guess it needs more flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did love cookies; however, I used canola oil instead of shortening, and used pecans instead of walnuts. I didn't measure anything perfectly, except the flour, & it came out fine....the pecans with the butter was a delicious combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These cookies were all right. They came out way to greasy. You could see the butter on the sulferized paper. And I agree with the other people: there wasn't enough flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
these cookies come out flat and hard. The recipe on the back of the chip bag was better. They need more flour or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camby, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States