Mom's Easy Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
YUUUUMMMYYYY! Never made a put roast in the crock pot but I'm glad I did. Here are the changes I made, not because I didn't trust your recipe but because these are the ingredients I had. I used a 3 lb. pork shoulder roast, a pint of roast beef stock, miniature carrots, a package of roast seasoning and made gravy with the drippings from the crock pot. Man was it good! Next time I will only use a half bag of dry onion soup mix or hold the onions. I actually thought of using french onion soup. Hmmm. Cooking to me is about experimenting and I thank you for a base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Well, this came out excellent. I was out of dry onion soup mix. So I used meat rub seasonning, beef broth, a dash of cayenne pepper, garlic and sliced white onions on top as to bleed its flavor on the meat. Bingo!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Not a big cooker in the kitchen....Was a great easy recipe...Used 2 packets of soup mix and extra water...Husband loved it...Added corn bread muffins and was a great homestyle meal...Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I tried it yesterday, and the beef just didn't get tender enough to be really easy to eat--important, since I was feeding an elderly relative. I had never add packaged/canned soups to beef, and doing so made it very easy. The taste was very good, and the vegetables were great. I will cut the bottom round into small pieces and turn it into soup. I'm going to try it again but use a chuck roast, since they are much more fail-safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
THIS WAS SO EASY.. ONLY... I HAD TO COOK A 12 POUND ROAST.. AND IT WAS REALLY GOOD...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMEN  & GENE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
good, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquelyn De Mira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I hate to write a bad review, but I followed the recipe exactly and this roast was really awful! The soup mix made it overly salty and the meat came out stringy. I still have the left overs in the fridge but can't imagine what I will do with it. We won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This turned out wonderful for me. However I did add 2 packets of dry onion soup. I also went ahead and used 8 small potatoes and used baby carrots instead of 3 carrots cut up as the directions say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Deviant

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My roast of choice is shoulder. This is a simple and delicious recipe...love what onion soup can do for so many things and the way it makes the house smell while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States