Mom's Easy Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
One of my favorite quick meals to make on a busy day. I like to use steamed brown rice, fresh broccoli and instead of curry, I use italian seasoning. I also add a good measure fresh ground pepper. Not only is it cheap to make, it's filling and comforting on cold days. NOTE: DO NOT skip the greasing step. You will regret it if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Badman
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The flavor of this is just outstanding! I halved the recipe, but still used 2 cups of rice. Also didn't have curry powder so I subbed garlic powder. Next time I may thaw the broccoli a little beforehand as it was a little crunchy. My picky 6 year old loved it and even asked for seconds :) I will be adding to my rotation, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for our weekly "Family Night" with some friends and it was a great success! Everyone really enjoyed it, except for my husband, simply because he does not like mayo. When I make it again, we're going to try leaving out the mayo or finding a substitute we can both agree on, to see if it will work for him. This recipe was enough to feed 6 adults with at least two helpings left over. Served with mixed green salad, and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was in our church cookbook growing up. The only difference in the recipe is that it uses NO RICE and we substitute RITZ crackers for the bread crumbs. Mom and I have started using A LOT more curry powder than it calls for. It's our favorite part. We don't use spicy curry... it's the regular McCormick kind that comes in the red/white can or the little plastic container with the red lid. I tried the "fancy" McCormick kind once and didn't like it at all. I also use Kroger brand Curry and it's the same. One of our family and friends' favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We all loved it! Followed exactly except left out the curry because I don't like it. Not exactly low fat but good to make now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Followed it pretty much to a T. Everyone enjoyed it including the hubby who isn't a fan of chicken. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This tasted like cream of chicken soup and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My Aunt (now 85 yrs. old) use to make this recipe with leftover Turkey after Thanksgiving. I always loved it! I made it tonight with just a few minor changes because I did not have everything on the ingredient list. I used Fresh Broccoli I steamed first, cut up a roasted chicken we had from the deli at the supermarket, used half plain Greek yogurt and half mayonnaise, mixed half brown rice cooked and half Texmati wild rice mix, and used crushed whole wheat Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. We also used mild Cheddar instead of sharp. It came out Great!!!! Even my very picky husband liked it! We will definitely hang on to this recipe for use frequently!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Tastes good. I think it would be better if you mixed everything but the cheese and breadcrumbs together before cooking. I make something similar using stuffing instead of rice that is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Quick and good. I substituted cream of mushroom soup and put about a half cup of sour cream. I also added two tablespoons of chopped butter. I omitted the bread crumbs and curry powder simply because I didn't have it! It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethwalden3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States