Mom's Easy Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Mom's Easy Chicken Divan Haiku: "Why is it layered? Mixing would've been better. Taste was pretty good." This recipe of "Mom's" would've been much easier had the ingredients all been combined (other than the breadcrumb/butter topping) b/c the rice at the bottom tasted like ... rice. The chicken and broccoli layers were just that ... chicken and broccoli. Why wouldn't I have just prepared rice, broccoli, and chicken separately and served them that way on a plate, b/c this required a thorough stirring upon serving to give all the separate "layers" more FLAVOR. There are plenty of other similar recipes on here for the same ingredients, requiring one to mix them all together, so I can really only give this particular recipe a 2-3 for its method, but not necessarily the taste of everything when it mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe was quick and easy. I didn't have frozen broccoli so I used fresh. I substituted sour cream for the mayo and doubled the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very salty & lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
family devoured it, I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom, because it's all I had and substituted plain greek yogurt for the mayo. it was a hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennings, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this without curry, and used white rice. cI think some garlic powder would be good, but overall it was fantastic!! I also used a winter blend vegetables with broccoli, baby carrots and cauliflower . Great recipe you can play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
We don't like mayonnaise, so I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead. I thought it helped to cut the taste of the canned soup while adding a bit of tang. I also added fresh sautéed mushrooms and used fresh steamed broccoli. Pretty good, but you can still taste the canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Quick and good. I substituted cream of mushroom soup and put about a half cup of sour cream. I also added two tablespoons of chopped butter. I omitted the bread crumbs and curry powder simply because I didn't have it! It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethwalden3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Tastes good. I think it would be better if you mixed everything but the cheese and breadcrumbs together before cooking. I make something similar using stuffing instead of rice that is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My Aunt (now 85 yrs. old) use to make this recipe with leftover Turkey after Thanksgiving. I always loved it! I made it tonight with just a few minor changes because I did not have everything on the ingredient list. I used Fresh Broccoli I steamed first, cut up a roasted chicken we had from the deli at the supermarket, used half plain Greek yogurt and half mayonnaise, mixed half brown rice cooked and half Texmati wild rice mix, and used crushed whole wheat Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. We also used mild Cheddar instead of sharp. It came out Great!!!! Even my very picky husband liked it! We will definitely hang on to this recipe for use frequently!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This tasted like cream of chicken soup and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States