Mom's Easy Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Badman
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The flavor of this is just outstanding! I halved the recipe, but still used 2 cups of rice. Also didn't have curry powder so I subbed garlic powder. Next time I may thaw the broccoli a little beforehand as it was a little crunchy. My picky 6 year old loved it and even asked for seconds :) I will be adding to my rotation, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for our weekly "Family Night" with some friends and it was a great success! Everyone really enjoyed it, except for my husband, simply because he does not like mayo. When I make it again, we're going to try leaving out the mayo or finding a substitute we can both agree on, to see if it will work for him. This recipe was enough to feed 6 adults with at least two helpings left over. Served with mixed green salad, and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittenkriss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was in our church cookbook growing up. The only difference in the recipe is that it uses NO RICE and we substitute RITZ crackers for the bread crumbs. Mom and I have started using A LOT more curry powder than it calls for. It's our favorite part. We don't use spicy curry... it's the regular McCormick kind that comes in the red/white can or the little plastic container with the red lid. I tried the "fancy" McCormick kind once and didn't like it at all. I also use Kroger brand Curry and it's the same. One of our family and friends' favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We all loved it! Followed exactly except left out the curry because I don't like it. Not exactly low fat but good to make now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My Aunt (now 85 yrs. old) use to make this recipe with leftover Turkey after Thanksgiving. I always loved it! I made it tonight with just a few minor changes because I did not have everything on the ingredient list. I used Fresh Broccoli I steamed first, cut up a roasted chicken we had from the deli at the supermarket, used half plain Greek yogurt and half mayonnaise, mixed half brown rice cooked and half Texmati wild rice mix, and used crushed whole wheat Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. We also used mild Cheddar instead of sharp. It came out Great!!!! Even my very picky husband liked it! We will definitely hang on to this recipe for use frequently!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda DeBenedittis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
family devoured it, I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom, because it's all I had and substituted plain greek yogurt for the mayo. it was a hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennings, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this without curry, and used white rice. cI think some garlic powder would be good, but overall it was fantastic!! I also used a winter blend vegetables with broccoli, baby carrots and cauliflower . Great recipe you can play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe was quick and easy. I didn't have frozen broccoli so I used fresh. I substituted sour cream for the mayo and doubled the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
One of my favorite quick meals to make on a busy day. I like to use steamed brown rice, fresh broccoli and instead of curry, I use italian seasoning. I also add a good measure fresh ground pepper. Not only is it cheap to make, it's filling and comforting on cold days. NOTE: DO NOT skip the greasing step. You will regret it if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wylie18
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Really easy and delicious!! Did not add rice for dietary reasons. Didn't miss it. Used Ritz crackers because I forgot to buy bread crumbs. Turned out great!! Versatile enough to change ingredients due to preferences and good enough to follow the recipe unchanged!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States