Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
After making a few minor changes such as adding a little celery seed and increasing the sour cream to 1 cup and decreasing the dillweed to 1-1/2 TBSP, we found this to be a wonderful potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Really simple and very tasty. I added celery which just gave it a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is very good. Reminds me of vegetable dip. A shortcut is to slice your potatoes into bite sized pieces before you boil them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Iles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Simple and delicious! If you love the flavor of dill, you'll LOVE this potato salad! It tastes a little bit like "sour cream and onion" due to the green onion in this. I followed the recipe exactly, using the optional salt and cracked black pepper. To lighten it up I used Hellman's lite mayo and light sour cream. I really wouldn't change much with this except maybe to use a bit less dill - 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. next time. This is a definite keeper when you want a quick, great tasting potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I first did this with the potatoes to thick and so it was good but when i made the pieces smaller it made a world of difference. This recipe taste the same as my fav from Antone's sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyblu9905

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
best homemade potato saled ever. used only 1 1/2 tbsp dill and upped the sour cream to a cup. yummy. oh and i used light mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Awesome recipe- added some capers to give it a little oomph and this may be one of the best potato salad recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I appreciated using this as a guide but I did make a whack of changes as I went, mostly because of what I had on hand and wanted to include. My family and I are very pleased with the results. What I did: - Cut the dill back to 1 1/2 tbsp - Swapped the measures for mayo & sour cream to 3/4 c. & 1 c. respectively and used light versions of both - skipped the green onions and minced a whole med/large yellow onion instead (may try red next time - 3 cloves of garlic, crushed - several hands full of snap peas, chopped - 4 or 5 hard boiled eggs, sliced - several dashes of Hungarian paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My Swedish grandfather loved his dill potatoes, and this recipe was similar to what I remember. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very good and exactly what I was looking for. I needed to double the creamy dressing recipe (use regular mayo not fat free). I also used other's recommendation and added some celery salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States