Mom's Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Yum! I love this potato salad! My mom used to make it sometimes too. I used fresh dill instead of dried, and I diced up my potatoes before boiling them. Whenever I make tato salad, I always drain the potatoes and then season them generously with salt and pepper while they're still warm. I think maybe it helps to flavor them up a little. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Mmmm, mmmm! This is delicious! I must admit, I did use fresh herbs (dill & chives) because my garden is growing, and I like to use it ; ). I'll definitely make this again, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I think this is my new FAVE potato salad...YUM! I did follow the other reviewers advice (increased sour cream to 1 cup and decreased dill to 1 1/2 TB). I also added a little celery and garlic salt. My sour cream and mayo used were both light, turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Yummy, yummy if you love dill like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pachinsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I liked the idea of this for its simplicity but found it pretty tasteless before I did a lot of doctoring. I added a lot more dill (I used fresh), celery salt, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, and some thinly sliced radishes and celery. There was also a little too much mayonnaise for my liking, so I mellowed out the tang with more sour cream. Basic recipes are nice to build upon, but they should also stand alone on their own merits without tinkering being necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
If you don't like mustard based potato salads, this is the salad for you. I made a 10 lbs salad, and my goodness did it go fast! In fact I'm making it again this weekend, and everyone is chomping at the bit for some more. What a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I've been trying to find the recipe that is similar to the deli salad I get from Kroger. This is pretty close, but I had to make some changes. I had to use russets, as it was all I had. It was okay, but I'll defnitely use red or yukon gold potatoes next time because the waxy potatoes hold up better. I also upped the sour cream to equal the mayo. I think I'll cut back on the mayo next time because it was way to mayo-tasting. I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic, and I used a LOT more dill weed. I also drizzled a lot of olive oil in it to give it that similar taste to Kroger's. I forgot the green onions, but I have lots left, so I'm definitely going to add it to the salad. I might even try adding a little celery seed like another reviewer suggested. Hubby actually likes this version a lot more than Kroger's version! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I was disappointed. I love all the ingredients, but mixed together seemed heavy and lacked flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent .....used 3/4c of low fat sour cream, 1/2c low fat mayo made with olive oil, and 1/2c fat free plain yogurt. Also used fresh dill and more than the recipe calls for. Extremely tasty and sits well in the fridge ad I made this on Friday for Easter Sunday and the flavors melded perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rubydog
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is easy and yummy! I swapped the quantities of mayonnaise and light sour cream and only used 1T dill, which is plenty (and I love dill). Then at the last minute I also chopped up some dill pickles to mix in, and garnished it will dill pickle spears. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States