Mom's Delicious Oyster Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I decided to try this with my family who all love seafood. It was a great hit! We served it with our turducken! We all loved it but I think I will have to update after I make it for my husband's family who are not as adventuous. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was my first time making cornbread dressing with oysters. My cornbread mix was a little on the sweet side. I would make it again using a more savory cornbread mix. So flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was my first try at oyster stuffing, and it turned out great! Even my brother in law, who is very critical over how oysters are done, said it was delicious. I did not cook the oysters long enough, so I turned the temperature to low and covered - I think the steam helped it to stay very moist. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this! Since I had never tried oysters in dressing before, and I didn't know if everyone coming to dinner would appreciate them, I only used one can. Everything else combined beautifully, and my guests enjoyed this. The inclusion of mashed sweet potato was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I love oysters and oyster dressing but this dish tastes and smells overwhelmingly fishy. Also, the combination with cornbread and spicey sausage sounds interesting but does not work... I would not chose to make it again, but if I did, I would use one can oysters instead of two and not use the oyster liquid but chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
this was just ok...I've never had oyster dressing before so I didn't know exactly what to expect. It wasn't really fishy, but it was rather bland. I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Everyone who loves oyster and oyster dressing will need to give this recipe a try. a wounderful combination of interesting flavors that will have your taste buds saying more,more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This dish was absolutely delicious. The sweet potatoe gives just a hint of sweetness to the dressing which is refreshing. We devoured it over thanksgiving. I think you could actually make this as a main course with some greenbeans or other vegetable. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Although, the flavor of this dish was lovely, it was a little drier than I would have liked. I recommend adding some chicken stock or butter to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Oyster stuffing was new to me and my family. I thought it was all right. I just prefer the standard cornbread stuffing. However, my family in general was unimpressed. It is a very colorful dish if you're looking for something eye-catching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States