Mom's Date Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This is a favorite recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners at our house. Hard to find this recipe in cookbooks but it is really worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
We LOVE this. I scale it down and cook it in several ramekins. I omit the sugar from the batter, and just add tiny amount of butter (1/4 tsp maybe?) to the syrup and just nuke it rather than the stove top. I make sure there is plenty of syrup and completely cover the pudding. Serve it with custard and all you will hear is "mmmmmm". This is also nice with some candied ginger added,or finely diced apple and different nuts. I think the pecans are the nicest though. Some of the reviewers comment that it is a christmas/special event treat. We eat this a couple of nights a week in winter, it is wicked. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe, it is so much more healthier than most other sticky date puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I was very sceptical about this recipe but I had some dates to use up so I dedided to try it anyway. The only alterations I made were leaving out all the sugar in the cake itself (it was sweet anyway with the sugar on the dates and the v. rich sauce) and halving the sauce. It was still very sweet and yummy! Actually quite low-fat due to there being no eggs in it and only a small amount of butter in the sauce (which I halved anyway remember). You would never guess from the finished product the weird ingredient list. Please try this cake without prior predjudice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
this was a huge mess - this recipe didn't follow any method i have seen in any recipe before!! it starts out with a weird dough, THEN you pour the butter on it?? and no eggs?! strange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had lost my own date pudding reicipe and thought I would give this a try, but it was terribly sweet (3 cups of sugar) and the natural rich taste of the dates was lost. Out of my family, three members ate it, but three of us found it inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Even folks who didn't like dates. I was told that I now have to bring this to every family get-together. They agreed it was better than even pecan pie. I did substitute pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
THIS RECIPE COULDNT HAVE BEEN EASIER OR MORE WONDERFUL! VERY RICH! (ALTHOUGH MY BOYFRIED ATE 3 PIECES IN A ROW). IT TASTED JUST LIKE A DESSERT AT AN AMISH RESTAURANT THAT CALLS IT "AMISH WEDDING DESSERT." I HAD BEEN LOOKING ALL OVER FOR THIS RECIPE, ALTHOUGH THEIRS HAD CHUNKS OF BANANA IN IT, I MAY TRY THAT VARIATION NEXT TIME. THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENADOVEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
another pleaser. i serve it upright but i wonder if it would be better flipped upside down? changes: * increased dates to 1 1/3 cups (suggest even upping to 1 2/3 c) * cut dates in half * eliminated nuts * used only 4 tablespoons butter (suggest reducing further to 2 1/2 tbsp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I was thrilled to find this recipe. My mother's best friend always made this date pudding at Christmas when I was a child, but I had never been able to replicate it before. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very, very nice. My cakes normally fail dismally but this one rose a treat. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States