Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe. The only thing is that it doesn't make enough of the liquid. So I ended up making three times the dressing/liquid so there was enough for the cucumbers and onions to marinate in it. I have made it with sugar and then tried it with granulated splenda (exchanged equal parts of sugar for the exact same amount of splenda) and it turned out nice both ways. I'll definitely make this again, but will always multiply the dressing/liquid two to three times as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These cucumbers were even better than the ones my own mother makes! Big hit with the family, several people asked for the recipe. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent no-oil recipe. I make it about once a week and sometimes add tomatoes. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Decreased the sugar a bit and left the onions as slices - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My husband wanted marinated cucumbers like his mother made, so tried this recipe. Five stars from my husband and family! Thanks so much. I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These were simple and delicious. Someone gave us a bunch of long thin cukes out of their garden and I needed to find a way to use them. This recipe did the trick. Very similar to a bread and butter pickle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Delicious in a bowl!! Followed the recipe pretty much, but decided not to drain the cucumbers. As it sat it got juicier, but it didn't alter the flavor one bit. I used strips of sweet vidalia onion instead of chopped. Sweet, cool, refreshing and a great compliment to a steak!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delish! First time I've ever made this. I did used white wine vinegar as other reviewers suggested. We loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
It's hilarious that I've been avoiding this recipe simply because it calls for sugar (I expected it to be sweet and I don't like sweet). Finally, however, I succumbed to this recipe and lo and behold it is the one I've been searching for for years... Although I add a bit more vinegar and water in order to make sure this isn't sweet, it's the perfect balance of tart, cool, and crisp. Thanks for teaching me a thing or two. (next time I'll add dill like another reviewer suggested, which was in the previous recipe I used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States