Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a perfect recipe! Ya just can't go wrong. Totally refreshing on a hot summer day with a garden full of cukes! My BF has asked me to make this 3 times in the last 2 weeks! LOL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is a standby recipe I rely on every summer. It is quick and easy. My family loves it. I took it to a work potluck and everyone wanted the recipe. An excellent way to make use of an abundant harvest of garden cucumbers. I do leave out the celery seed and often add minced hot peppers for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I had some cucumbers I was looking to use and came across this recipe. I liked the recipe. I changed it just a little. I had used rice vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar and I added some chopped tomatoes for color. The tomatoes really did not add much in the way of flavor. Overall I thought that it was good but it did taste quite a bit like sweet pickles. I followed other reviews that mentioned adding a dab of sour cream and that perfected it in my opinion. I will be making this again and I will always make sure I add a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent receipe. Similar to one I have where I thinly slice sweet red onions and optionally add some coarsely chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Boy o boy does this bring back memories! My mom and grandmother(who passed a couple years back) used to make this. We have a small tight knit family all of us used to sit around eating out of the same bowl :) the longer it sits THE BETTER IT IS. Great with or without onion try mixing other veggies (as i did when i was pregnant)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Timmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Classic taste that I grew up with. Check this one out. I didn't chop the onions though, I just sliced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Somers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a summer dish that my mother used to make. It was one of my favorites and this recipe is just as good. I left out the celery seed. It's such a crisp summer salad...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I like mine a little more sweet & tangy. Sorry, just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
The entire fam has been enjoying this receipe all summer long. I added a couple of drops of sesame seed oil since I was adding them to my Chinese Chicken Salad. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
AMAZINGGGGGGG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States