Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thought this was great! I just did thinly sliced onion, not chopped. I also didn't have an celery seed so I just threw in some fresh dill. Added a small amount of pepper and these were all eaten at the get together last night. I got asked for the recipe several times! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I did not have any distilled vinegar so I used balsamic and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very refreshing! Good side dish to go with sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to make do with what I had - sesame seeds and rice vinegar. It turned out pretty good, I suppose. An interesting flavor sensation, to be sure. I only used one cucumber and I'm not sure how well it scales down, but one was more than enough for a side dish for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cucumbers finally tasted very good to us. I will be making this recipe again, everyone here really liked it. Thanks to your Mom for giving it to you and thank you for letting us see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A TWIST WE ADD: we slice the onions into rings, add bell pepper slices, and quarter tomatoes to the cucumbers. Very tasty though leftovers become a bit soggy the next day. So we make just enough for each meal we are serving it for. JUST A SIDENOTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I used this recipe to replace a full veggie salad and save time. It was great! I didn't have vinegar, and replaced it with the juice from a half jar of mild nacho slices, which added a spicy taste. Then sprinkled it with a tsp of dill instead of celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Calumet City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Just like my grandmother use to make. I used a couple of giant seedless cucumbers and made double brine. It was a little more than 2 people could eat in 4 days-- by which time the cucumbers were getting pretty limp-- BUT the first 2 days they were crisp and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
tasty!! I have two words for all of you though, salad spinner! Slice your cucumbers and toss with salt and then let sit in the the spinner for awhile, give it few turns and away you go. I added a little dill, and a splash of white wine, and then cooked the vinegar solution for a bit, gives it an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkkash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States