Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
A nice, refreshing salad. I made this by following the recipe as it's printed and it turned out great. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 b/c my kids didn't like it at all. Next time I'll try it w/ some of the other suggestions and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I used about 1/8 cup of sugar-1/4 cup would've been too much. I also tried it with apple cider vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar. It was very refreshing, but not great. I will make this again with some more changes. P.S. You don't need to let the cucumbers stand thirty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thought this was great! I just did thinly sliced onion, not chopped. I also didn't have an celery seed so I just threw in some fresh dill. Added a small amount of pepper and these were all eaten at the get together last night. I got asked for the recipe several times! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I did not have any distilled vinegar so I used balsamic and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hecker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very refreshing! Good side dish to go with sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had to make do with what I had - sesame seeds and rice vinegar. It turned out pretty good, I suppose. An interesting flavor sensation, to be sure. I only used one cucumber and I'm not sure how well it scales down, but one was more than enough for a side dish for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cucumbers finally tasted very good to us. I will be making this recipe again, everyone here really liked it. Thanks to your Mom for giving it to you and thank you for letting us see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A TWIST WE ADD: we slice the onions into rings, add bell pepper slices, and quarter tomatoes to the cucumbers. Very tasty though leftovers become a bit soggy the next day. So we make just enough for each meal we are serving it for. JUST A SIDENOTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I used this recipe to replace a full veggie salad and save time. It was great! I didn't have vinegar, and replaced it with the juice from a half jar of mild nacho slices, which added a spicy taste. Then sprinkled it with a tsp of dill instead of celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mccjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Calumet City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States