Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Tasty. made as is and only cut out the onion and the amount of sugar to a couple of teaspoons. very light and refreshing. used seasoned rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I substituted the white vinegar with white balsamic vinegar (I used Alessi brand). Very smooth and fragrant. Tweak with some extra vinegar or sugar to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Had a bunch mini cucumbers that I didn't want to go to waste. Found this recipe. Made small salad. Was Great. Made another using 14 small cucumbers and tripled the dressing for a party. Everyone loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ballou
Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really good and really fresh. Perfect for the cucumbers that keep finding their way to my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used 1/8 cup sugar substitute (I am diabetic) and changed the vinegar to apple cider. I also sliced the onions very thin (like the cucumbers). I made it exactly as written the first time, but these changes made it more like MY Moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
No flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Just like my mom makes. A very good and refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Timing is everything! Probably wouldn't have tried this recipe as I've been eating and making a marinated cuke/onion salad since I was a kid in the 60s and neither my Mom nor I ever used anything but a vinegar/water solution with a little salt and pepper and it was great, especially after a few days in the fridge. While in Charleston, SC vacationing with family last month we went to a low country restaurant named Jestine's Kitchen. The whole meal was fantastic but the fresh cuke pickles were so good that we bought a gallon to go when we left. My son-in-law and I both remarked that we needed to find the recipe. This may not be "spot on" but it's real close. The vinegar/sugar mix is perfect, not too sweet or acidic, and the celery seed is the kicker. I did use apple cider vinegar and added a pinch of dried dill and, following other reviewer's advice, I didn't squeeze the water out of the cukes nor add water. Great fresh pickles, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Perfect! Just the right amount of sweet, sour, and salty. I didn't have any celery sees so I replaced it with dill weed. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I loved these cucumbers since they had the right amount of sweetness and the right amount of vinegar tangy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States