Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Last time I made a cucumber salad I ruined it. So I wanted a recipe that rated well. I made this for a small gathering on our boat for Independence Day fireworks. We grilled steak and cooked corn on the cobb. (Not much room to cook anything else on a boat, so this was a great make ahead side salad. It was a big hit. I did alter the recipe only slightly. I used 1/4 red onion, very thinly sliced instead of the chopped onion. I did leave out the celery seed (I didn't have it) and added fresh, chopped parsley. Fabulous! Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This cucumber salad is better than what I remember my grandmother making! I did substitute the distilled white vinegar with white wine vinegar -- it made for a little bit more mellow and sweeter marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
This sounded like a good salad to go along with my turkey and trimmings. I regret to say, but I can't give it more than two stars. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have always made my grandmother's recipe, very similar to this. I use garlic rather than onion and sprinkle with dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I really love cucumber salad and this one is very good. I usually skip adding water and don't bother sqeezing out any water after the cuke's have been salted. Occasionally will add sour cream later but there's usually none left to add it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiBee
Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Wonderful! I used English cucumbers (so much nicer than those nasty waxy ones with the tough pips), and used a vegetable peeler to slice off strips of peel. I substituted toasted sesame seeds for the celery seed as I don't like them. This tasted just like the cucumber salad at a local sushi bar! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
What a refreshing salad! I took it to a potluck and got lots of complements. I did slice the onions and add thinly sliced tomatoes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I like to add a dollop of sour cream to this refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was delicious and refreshing, especially for summer time. My friend, who doesn't like cucumbers, loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
tasty!! I have two words for all of you though, salad spinner! Slice your cucumbers and toss with salt and then let sit in the the spinner for awhile, give it few turns and away you go. I added a little dill, and a splash of white wine, and then cooked the vinegar solution for a bit, gives it an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkkash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States