Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
There are many recipes I wish I would have got from Grandma before she passed. Thanks Karen for helping me find one of these memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Last time I made a cucumber salad I ruined it. So I wanted a recipe that rated well. I made this for a small gathering on our boat for Independence Day fireworks. We grilled steak and cooked corn on the cobb. (Not much room to cook anything else on a boat, so this was a great make ahead side salad. It was a big hit. I did alter the recipe only slightly. I used 1/4 red onion, very thinly sliced instead of the chopped onion. I did leave out the celery seed (I didn't have it) and added fresh, chopped parsley. Fabulous! Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
These were just like my grandmother's and a HUGE hit on Father's Day! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEL73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Just like I remember my mom's. I did add a little garlic powder and a smidge of red pepper. Perfect side dish to cool down the spicy grilled chilled we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
What a refreshing salad! I took it to a potluck and got lots of complements. I did slice the onions and add thinly sliced tomatoes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I wrote a review for this a few years ago and since then have tweaked this dish. I feel water is unnecessary and "chopped" onion is too much for this refreshing salad. I use 1/4 of a red onion instead and slice it into paper thin slices. The red onion adds color, but also slicing it paper thin allows you to avoid big chunks of onion if you want to. I don't always use the celery seed and it still tastes great! Another tip, prepare this an hour or two ahead of serving time and keep in the fridge to allow the dish to marinate and chill. * Also, I'm a big fan of Whole Foods cucumber salad which is very similar, except they use honey as the sweetener. I've started using 1-2 Tbls of honey instead of the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Very quick and easy to make. I made this for my future in-laws one night, my future father-in-law is a vegetarian and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I like to add a dollop of sour cream to this refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This was a great rescipe!! So great in the summer time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was delicious and refreshing, especially for summer time. My friend, who doesn't like cucumbers, loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States