Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a perfect recipe! Ya just can't go wrong. Totally refreshing on a hot summer day with a garden full of cukes! My BF has asked me to make this 3 times in the last 2 weeks! LOL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is a standby recipe I rely on every summer. It is quick and easy. My family loves it. I took it to a work potluck and everyone wanted the recipe. An excellent way to make use of an abundant harvest of garden cucumbers. I do leave out the celery seed and often add minced hot peppers for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I had some cucumbers I was looking to use and came across this recipe. I liked the recipe. I changed it just a little. I had used rice vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar and I added some chopped tomatoes for color. The tomatoes really did not add much in the way of flavor. Overall I thought that it was good but it did taste quite a bit like sweet pickles. I followed other reviews that mentioned adding a dab of sour cream and that perfected it in my opinion. I will be making this again and I will always make sure I add a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent receipe. Similar to one I have where I thinly slice sweet red onions and optionally add some coarsely chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Boy o boy does this bring back memories! My mom and grandmother(who passed a couple years back) used to make this. We have a small tight knit family all of us used to sit around eating out of the same bowl :) the longer it sits THE BETTER IT IS. Great with or without onion try mixing other veggies (as i did when i was pregnant)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Classic taste that I grew up with. Check this one out. I didn't chop the onions though, I just sliced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Somers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a summer dish that my mother used to make. It was one of my favorites and this recipe is just as good. I left out the celery seed. It's such a crisp summer salad...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I like mine a little more sweet & tangy. Sorry, just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
The entire fam has been enjoying this receipe all summer long. I added a couple of drops of sesame seed oil since I was adding them to my Chinese Chicken Salad. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
AMAZINGGGGGGG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States