Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
My husband devoured this cucumber salad and two days later asked for more! Easy to make, delicious, and low calorie too. Who could ask for anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
excellent recipe! added a scoop of low fat sour cream! so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Tasty. made as is and only cut out the onion and the amount of sugar to a couple of teaspoons. very light and refreshing. used seasoned rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I substituted the white vinegar with white balsamic vinegar (I used Alessi brand). Very smooth and fragrant. Tweak with some extra vinegar or sugar to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Had a bunch mini cucumbers that I didn't want to go to waste. Found this recipe. Made small salad. Was Great. Made another using 14 small cucumbers and tripled the dressing for a party. Everyone loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ballou
Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really good and really fresh. Perfect for the cucumbers that keep finding their way to my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used 1/8 cup sugar substitute (I am diabetic) and changed the vinegar to apple cider. I also sliced the onions very thin (like the cucumbers). I made it exactly as written the first time, but these changes made it more like MY Moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
No flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Just like my mom makes. A very good and refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Timing is everything! Probably wouldn't have tried this recipe as I've been eating and making a marinated cuke/onion salad since I was a kid in the 60s and neither my Mom nor I ever used anything but a vinegar/water solution with a little salt and pepper and it was great, especially after a few days in the fridge. While in Charleston, SC vacationing with family last month we went to a low country restaurant named Jestine's Kitchen. The whole meal was fantastic but the fresh cuke pickles were so good that we bought a gallon to go when we left. My son-in-law and I both remarked that we needed to find the recipe. This may not be "spot on" but it's real close. The vinegar/sugar mix is perfect, not too sweet or acidic, and the celery seed is the kicker. I did use apple cider vinegar and added a pinch of dried dill and, following other reviewer's advice, I didn't squeeze the water out of the cukes nor add water. Great fresh pickles, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States