Mom's Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
No flavor, Mom H Cucumber Salad much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Just like my mom makes. A very good and refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Timing is everything! Probably wouldn't have tried this recipe as I've been eating and making a marinated cuke/onion salad since I was a kid in the 60s and neither my Mom nor I ever used anything but a vinegar/water solution with a little salt and pepper and it was great, especially after a few days in the fridge. While in Charleston, SC vacationing with family last month we went to a low country restaurant named Jestine's Kitchen. The whole meal was fantastic but the fresh cuke pickles were so good that we bought a gallon to go when we left. My son-in-law and I both remarked that we needed to find the recipe. This may not be "spot on" but it's real close. The vinegar/sugar mix is perfect, not too sweet or acidic, and the celery seed is the kicker. I did use apple cider vinegar and added a pinch of dried dill and, following other reviewer's advice, I didn't squeeze the water out of the cukes nor add water. Great fresh pickles, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Perfect! Just the right amount of sweet, sour, and salty. I didn't have any celery sees so I replaced it with dill weed. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I loved these cucumbers since they had the right amount of sweetness and the right amount of vinegar tangy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very refreshing. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Simple and delicious. Didn't have celery seed so substituted dried dill weed. A great way to throw in a last minute veg with lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this one and it gets better the 2nd and 3rd day if you get it to last that long. Make sure after you slice and lightly salt them you let them set out at least 1/2 hr on a paper towel and then pat dry. I didn't add the extra water since I knew the cucumbers would still give off water after being in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I did make a few changes to this recipe and it was a big hit with everyone who tried it. I used English cucumbers and did not salt them first. I omitted the celery seeds and used 1/8 cup rice wine vinegar and 1/8 cup of white vinegar. It was very refreshing with a similar taste to a Japanese salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It was a little too sweet so I added more vinegar, water and celery salt ( used salt ....did not have celery seed) Next time I will use sliced onion instead of chopped onion.....it's easier to eat. All in all the closest recipe to delis and Prepared food stores that charge a lot for this salad. .......much better than any recipe I have tried previously.. I would definitely make it again.......my husband loved it and is always buying it at the prepared food stores....now he doesn't have to.....thanks so much for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States