Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This turned out wonderful. Followed to the T almost. I just let the cucumbers sit in the fridge with salt on them for about one hour to remove some of the H2O prior to adding the dressing mix and added some fresh onion too. Wow I could eat the entire batch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Vezeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Shockingly sweet! It's a great salad with red onion and garlic added. But, if you make with the recommended 1/4 cup sugar, it will overtake everything else. I used 1/8 cup sugar, and that was still plenty. I did salt and rinse the cucumbers to extract the liquid, so the salad had a nice rich texture, and I also used half mayo and half sour cream. I will make this one again with these revisions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really good. Followed recipe exactly and everyone at the gathering enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I salted and drained cukes before adding to the dressing. I use 1/2 sour cream and red wine vinegar. Forgot the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Good flavor and easy to make. All the ingredients are usually in the pantry and the sweet and sour balances nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I found this recipe a bit disappointing, but my husband loved it. He doesn't like cucumber so I made his portion with tomatoes; maybe it tastes better that way! Will make again and tweak it to my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
We just smoked six racks of baby backs and two shoulders and I wanted a cool tasty side dish that wasn't just potato salad or Mac salad and this hit the spot. Very cool crisp and flavorful, and super simple. It was only my husband and me so I cut the recipe in half. PERFECT side dish!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
we substitute sour cream or Greek yoghurt for the mayo and it's terrific! Also we use vadalia onions, thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I'm rating this 5 stars AFTER my alterations. First: you MUST salt and let sit for at least one hour to allow for the liquid to drain off. Drain the liquid THEN add the sauce, otherwise its too runny. Second: For those of you like me who love garlic add about 2 medium sized cloves minced. Third: Add about 1 tblsp or even 2 of FRESH DILL! makes all the difference. And lastly: refrigerate 4 hours or overnight for the flavors to really meld! Enjoy alongside grilled chicken/steak and roasted potatoes, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Wow, this was too sweet for us. I ended up tripling everything but the sugar and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States