Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
WOW! This was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! My neighbor hand-delivered an AWEESOME plate of food a few nights ago (she knows I'm on my own for dinner on Tuesday nights). She made a delicious cucumber salad to accompany the bacon wrapped filet and rice pilaf she prepared. I LOVED her unique salad and have been craving it ever since. :) I usually like my cucumbers marinated in a vinegar / sugar mixture, but decided to try a creamy version this time around - and boy I'm glad I did! With the exception of halving this (my hubs hates cucumbers!) and adding half a (sliced) red onion, a GENEROUS dose of fresh cracked black pepper and 2 small cloves of (minced) garlic, I made no significant changes. NOTE: To avoid a watery mess, you must sweat your cucumbers FIRST. Simply place your sliced cucumbers in a colander set over a large bowl, sprinkle with 1-2 t of salt (~ 1/2 t per cuke) and allow to sit for 1-2 hours. Rinse, drain and voila! If you haven't already, you've GOT to try this. Thanks SO much for sharing your mom's recipe, Lisa! I see myself making this often during the hot summer months. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent even without the dill. Used Cavenders seasoned salt and did the trick from another reviewer with the salt letting some of the liquid drain before mixing with dressing. Bottom line its going to be soupy but I think that is the norm for a salad like this. Was DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This turned out wonderful. Followed to the T almost. I just let the cucumbers sit in the fridge with salt on them for about one hour to remove some of the H2O prior to adding the dressing mix and added some fresh onion too. Wow I could eat the entire batch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Vezeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Shockingly sweet! It's a great salad with red onion and garlic added. But, if you make with the recommended 1/4 cup sugar, it will overtake everything else. I used 1/8 cup sugar, and that was still plenty. I did salt and rinse the cucumbers to extract the liquid, so the salad had a nice rich texture, and I also used half mayo and half sour cream. I will make this one again with these revisions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really good. Followed recipe exactly and everyone at the gathering enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I salted and drained cukes before adding to the dressing. I use 1/2 sour cream and red wine vinegar. Forgot the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Good flavor and easy to make. All the ingredients are usually in the pantry and the sweet and sour balances nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I found this recipe a bit disappointing, but my husband loved it. He doesn't like cucumber so I made his portion with tomatoes; maybe it tastes better that way! Will make again and tweak it to my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
We just smoked six racks of baby backs and two shoulders and I wanted a cool tasty side dish that wasn't just potato salad or Mac salad and this hit the spot. Very cool crisp and flavorful, and super simple. It was only my husband and me so I cut the recipe in half. PERFECT side dish!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
we substitute sour cream or Greek yoghurt for the mayo and it's terrific! Also we use vadalia onions, thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States