Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So delicious! I couldn't get my 11 yo to stop eating it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akseverson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I couldn't give this recipe anything less that a 5 star! It doesn't have a strong mayo flavor that has always turned me away from cucumber salad. saladI love dill so I added a little extra. I'm going to use this dressing on my salad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I have made many wonderful meals from the recipes on this site and have never felt the urge to write a review as this one. This recipe is fast and easy with ingredients you most likely have on hand and delicious! My husband raved about it and said he could eat a full bowl of just this salad alone. I am not a big fan of mayo and often reduce it or substitute it so I wasn't sure about this...the dill gives it a light and refreshing taste. I plan on taking this to the next planned family BBQ coming up. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that will probably be in our family for many years to come as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I was overwhelmed by the mayo taste. yucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
WOW! This was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! My neighbor hand-delivered an AWEESOME plate of food a few nights ago (she knows I'm on my own for dinner on Tuesday nights). She made a delicious cucumber salad to accompany the bacon wrapped filet and rice pilaf she prepared. I LOVED her unique salad and have been craving it ever since. :) I usually like my cucumbers marinated in a vinegar / sugar mixture, but decided to try a creamy version this time around - and boy I'm glad I did! With the exception of halving this (my hubs hates cucumbers!) and adding half a (sliced) red onion, a GENEROUS dose of fresh cracked black pepper and 2 small cloves of (minced) garlic, I made no significant changes. NOTE: To avoid a watery mess, you must sweat your cucumbers FIRST. Simply place your sliced cucumbers in a colander set over a large bowl, sprinkle with 1-2 t of salt (~ 1/2 t per cuke) and allow to sit for 1-2 hours. Rinse, drain and voila! If you haven't already, you've GOT to try this. Thanks SO much for sharing your mom's recipe, Lisa! I see myself making this often during the hot summer months. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent even without the dill. Used Cavenders seasoned salt and did the trick from another reviewer with the salt letting some of the liquid drain before mixing with dressing. Bottom line its going to be soupy but I think that is the norm for a salad like this. Was DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This turned out wonderful. Followed to the T almost. I just let the cucumbers sit in the fridge with salt on them for about one hour to remove some of the H2O prior to adding the dressing mix and added some fresh onion too. Wow I could eat the entire batch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Vezeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Shockingly sweet! It's a great salad with red onion and garlic added. But, if you make with the recommended 1/4 cup sugar, it will overtake everything else. I used 1/8 cup sugar, and that was still plenty. I did salt and rinse the cucumbers to extract the liquid, so the salad had a nice rich texture, and I also used half mayo and half sour cream. I will make this one again with these revisions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really good. Followed recipe exactly and everyone at the gathering enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I salted and drained cukes before adding to the dressing. I use 1/2 sour cream and red wine vinegar. Forgot the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States