Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this quite a lot last summer and the entire family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as given and the only thing I now do differently is to let the sliced cucumber drain for a while first to cut down on the liquid. If the cucumbers are large I will remove the seeds, which also cuts down on the juice. When time is short I often just add extra cucumber slices to improve the liquid to cucumber ratio. I also now add very thinly sliced red onion for a punch of color and a nice flavor contrast. My garden is bursting with cucumbers right now and this wonderful salad is in our fridge every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I love this recipe. Just like my Mom made. The only change I made was I used 1/4 cup sour cream and a 1/4 cup Mayo. Much more creamy. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marge Shenk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
DElish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So so so so so GOOD! My friend added more seasoning salt, not much. Just a little. Even without more of the seasoning salt, it was still good. I don't like cucumbers at all, but I liked this recipe so much I will definitely make it again and again. Slightly more watery than I had envisioned, but I just drank the juice lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Awesome!! Just like momma use to make! Thank you so much for this recipe :) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lildeby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakin, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goodland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I searched and searched for the cucumber salad recipe I remembered loving as a kid and this is it! I personally don't change a thing when I make it, and everyone always loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great flavor! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
So tasty! I agree with the other reviewers about too much mayo and the liquid settling out. I will try the salt trick next time I make this and I will half the ingredients for the dressing while still using the same amount of cukes but it tasted great! a lovely light, sweet side dish for the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was excellent! I did the suggestions of others, such as salted the cucumbers and let them sit in a colander for an hour to get the water out of the cucumbers. I also did the suggestion of 1/2 c. of mayonnaise and 1/2 c. of sour cream. I did add a sweet onion, chopped loosely just because that is how my mom used to make it as well. LISAPAV thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States