Mom's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The flavor of this cucumber salad was very good but thought it needed a tad more dill. Perhaps that's just my taste though. I followed the recipe exactly this first time around and after adding the cucumbers it made the dressing very runny so it didn't "stick" to the cucumbers very well. Luckily, I saved half of the dressing (because I only cut 2 cucumbers for now) and when I use it I will take the advice of others and salt and drain the cucumbers first. Then I think it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
this was very good, I did as some others said and salted the cucumber and left them for half hour and then made the salad. Everyone like it and it was a great way to use up the garden cucumbers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
this is very good...I tried this twice, once with onions and once without. I prefer them with the onions. I also suggest using a little less sugar, it tends to be a little sweet. Otherwise, it's very good and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I really liked this cucumber salad. I used Hellman's Low-Fat Dressing and Splenda to lighten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I loved this salad and my husband who is fussy about his food thoroughly enjoyed it too. It was also very easy to make. I added a salad sprinkle for extra spark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very good but very rich. Halved the recipe. Used 1/2 real mayo and 1/2 sour cream. Made the rest as written. Very few left over. Can't wait to eat with my lunch at work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
You can eliminate the mayonnaise. Adding red onion makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Let me suggest another option to this delicious recipe, you can change the mayo and use yoghurt instead. I'd also suggest a slightly sweet type and leave out the sugar too. Dieting? Use fat & sugar free yoghurt. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe. I tried your recipe exactly as printed and it is great. I also tried it with the cukes sliced paper thin and it was also great. I added paper thin sliced Vidalia onions. Everyone who has tasted any variation of your recipe has loved it. Thanx again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good rec. I used apple cider vinegar in place of white. also used celery seed in place of dill. That's the way my mom did it. Mr Kerry Lee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States