Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
First attempt at country gravy. BIG hit... We highly recommend. Only variation I did was use butter in place of veg oil as suggested by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I really like it! plain, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was GREAT. (: Next time I am going to cook up some breakfast sausage and add it for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I agree with Janine...to get the right flavor, fry up some sausage or bacon first, set it aside. Next, pour off the fat. NOW start your gravy... Great starter recipe! Sometimes I add a pinch of red pepper flakes for some kick...try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Thanks so much for this vegetarian gravy recipe! It was so yummy and I will definitely make in again! I did take the advice of other reviewers and added a little minced garlic and used (vegan) butter instead of oil. The gravy stiffed up quickly so I added about 2 cups of vegetable stock and simmered everything again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj071480

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Easiest and quickest gravy recipe EVER!!! Tastes great too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I browned a lb of "Jimmy Deans", used those drippings, followed the recipe, put the sausage back in. A layer of Potatoes O'brian (with extra onion and garlic), a layer of scrambled eggs. Topped with gravy....great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Oh my goodness! I just made cream gravy from scratch. Yummy! I did add the garlic salt, and chicken boullion just for a little flavor. I was a little nervous about cooking the "roux" for 10 minutes after I completely ruined some gumbo a few years back, but it turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My mother-in-law taught me how to make what she called "Breakfast Gravy". She grew up in the south and her southern cooking was awesome. I found this recipe to be very blah. It's actually more of a White Sauce than Country Gravy. The browning of the flour helps a little though. Real Country Gravy needs the drippings from bacon or sausage instead of plain oil. And you must brown the flour otherwise you will just have a white sauce. The browned flour gives the best flavor and color. I love Country Gravy but it's really not very healty. But once in a great while is very good. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good! I love it! I whisked in some Poultry Gravy powder that tasted great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States