Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The only change I made (because of other comments) was to use butter instead of oil for the roux. It was edible, but I would not say it was enjoyable to eat. I agree with some others that the flour taste was too strong (yes, I cooked the butter and flour 'til it browned). Also, the amount of pepper didn't seem anywhere near enough. I was taught with other gravies to use equal parts oil and flour, so I will try it again using 1/2 cup flour, and figure out how much pepper I think it should have. I will post my results soon! UPDATE: I reduced the flour to 1/2 cup and incresed the pepper to 1 1/2 tsp. which was enough to satisfy some. It was MUCH better. Some family members still added more pepper. TIP: If it gets too thick by the time you are ready to eat, whisk in some more milk to get the consistency you want. Taste again to see if you want more salt and/or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think it turned out well. I browned some frozen sausage in the skillet before starting the gravy to give it some extra flavor. To avoid that floury taste you have to remember to let the fat/flour mixture cook just a little before adding the milk. Salt and pepper to taste and ta-da!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontpanic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I'm always experimenting with gravy recipes because I love gravy on almost everything. This recipe was very good, fast and easy! I did use the broth from chicken noodle soup instead of oil, but I personally like the chicken taste to my gravy. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Liegh Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Reliable and healthy twist on an old favorite. Despite what others say below, browning the roux (oil/flour) is very important for the flavor that this dish is meant to carry. The gravy is white, yes, but an off white is what the picture shows. More a tan gravy. It's classified as white because of the milk and flour and oil simplicity without any specific bullion or stock induced taste. It is a brilliant and simple subtlety. The flavoring of the whole thing is carefully lifted to a wondrous place when you take the complex sugars in the oil, fat, butter, whatever you use, and caramelize them against the flour. Like sautéd onions. Like aging wine. It is the key here, subtlety. The sole secret need not be bacon grease and other such blunt tools of good taste. There is nothing wrong with bacon grease. Some enjoy other things alongside it. There are many secret ingredients, big and small. I was delighted by this recipe and I want to cook many more things like it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Added some garden grown basil and lemon thyme. Used sausage grease with a little veggie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this gravy today for breakfast! Turned out wonderful, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Why would you use vegetable oil?? I should've gone with my gut and used butter! Followed this exactly and this tasted like jellied oil. No amount of salt or pepper can fix that taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Boy was this thick! I'd always heard a basic ratio of 1 part oil to one part flour when making a roux, so I was hesitant but went with the 3/4 cup flour. Next time I will reduce the amount of flour. I took the advice of several reviewers and used bacon grease. The taste was good. Some people had said there was a strong taste of flour; that happens if you did not cook the flour long enough before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I was looking for a good biscuits and gravy type gravy without the sausage and this was it. Exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Blah...very flavorless. Needs something. Gave it 3 stars because it's a good start to something, but definitely needs tweaking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Daigle Tabone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States