Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe is a fantastic base recipe for country gravy and my whole family loved it! Because there was a strong flour taste using the exact recipe, I used the "most helpful positive review" tips from Janine (added garlic, a dash of extra pepper plus some dried beef for extra flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was VERY good! My husband is sooooo picky and even he loved it. The only alteration I made was I added extra pepper because my husband and I are big fans of peppery gravy. The only thing I might add next time is some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe but I added a 2 tbl spoons of italian seasoning and sauteed onions when doing the roux and it came out wonderful. Will try it with butter next time to see how it comes out that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I Made Exactly As The Directions Said But I have a gas stove so medium heat is to high my gravy was way to dark but tasted really good. My first time making homemade gravy & it was easy and good. Thumbs Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was good. I was getting sick of all the reviewers talking about it needing bacon or sausage grease!! YUCK! Some of us don't eat meat (pork, specifically, for me) and I was looking for a recipe that I could still get my gravy for biscuits. The only issue I had was not listening to others and adding the milk too fast. I had little flour balls, but it didn't affect the flavor any. Anyway, good first try, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good basic country gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Made this for breakfast with biscuits and it was DELISH! When I test-tasted it right out of the pan I wasn't sure, but once it was on top of the biscuits holy cow it was great'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have tried this and it so good! Janine thanks for the tip about the bacon, it really helped. This is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Made this one night for dinner, so happy I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Really good but I sub butter for the veggie oil as others have mentioned. Fabulous on biscuits. Make this right before serving so it isn't a gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States