Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
this is a great recipe.. ive have been trying to make gravy now for bout 4 days (and just thought bout looking for a recipe online) but, i made it just like it said too and it was great tasting.... but the greesy grime left in my mouth after eatting it is not what i enjoyed... maybe next time ill cut back on the oil but, everyone went for 2nds.. i will DEFF. make this again.. the kids love it.. and also i like my gravy alil brown so i cooked the oil, and flour until it was really brown and then i added the 4 cups of milk it was a little thick so maybe next time ill try 4 1/4 cups milk.. but the kids and i really enjoyed the darker gravy.. so just cook it longer if thats what u want to try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was great! Although i substituted the oil for butter and added chicken boullion....it was delicious over fried chicken and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was the first time I had ever made gravy for breakfast. My entire family loved it including myself. it was very easy to prepare and it turned out perfect with no lumps. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
For 15 yrs I have made homemade gravy for biscuits ... well I was out of 2 ing. the other night when we had ppl over so I looked on here found this one and tried it .... WELL my husband says I am never to make any other recipe but this one for now on .... it was so creamy and so good the only thing I did different was add crushed red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1970us

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe but I halved it. I had no plain oil so I used half butter and half olive oil. But followed the instructions, and it came out great! We even mistakenly bought fat free milk, but it still thickened properly. I will be usin this again and again. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the same gravy my mom made for us growing up and it is the best in the world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am so glad to find this recipe. I watched my grandpa make Country Gravy all the time growing up but there was no recipe I could never get the ingredients proportioned right on my own. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe is a fantastic base recipe for country gravy and my whole family loved it! Because there was a strong flour taste using the exact recipe, I used the "most helpful positive review" tips from Janine (added garlic, a dash of extra pepper plus some dried beef for extra flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was VERY good! My husband is sooooo picky and even he loved it. The only alteration I made was I added extra pepper because my husband and I are big fans of peppery gravy. The only thing I might add next time is some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe but I added a 2 tbl spoons of italian seasoning and sauteed onions when doing the roux and it came out wonderful. Will try it with butter next time to see how it comes out that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States