Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I agree with Janine...to get the right flavor, fry up some sausage or bacon first, set it aside. Next, pour off the fat. NOW start your gravy... Great starter recipe! Sometimes I add a pinch of red pepper flakes for some kick...try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Thanks so much for this vegetarian gravy recipe! It was so yummy and I will definitely make in again! I did take the advice of other reviewers and added a little minced garlic and used (vegan) butter instead of oil. The gravy stiffed up quickly so I added about 2 cups of vegetable stock and simmered everything again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj071480

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Easiest and quickest gravy recipe EVER!!! Tastes great too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I browned a lb of "Jimmy Deans", used those drippings, followed the recipe, put the sausage back in. A layer of Potatoes O'brian (with extra onion and garlic), a layer of scrambled eggs. Topped with gravy....great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Oh my goodness! I just made cream gravy from scratch. Yummy! I did add the garlic salt, and chicken boullion just for a little flavor. I was a little nervous about cooking the "roux" for 10 minutes after I completely ruined some gumbo a few years back, but it turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Sowders Sitton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My mother-in-law taught me how to make what she called "Breakfast Gravy". She grew up in the south and her southern cooking was awesome. I found this recipe to be very blah. It's actually more of a White Sauce than Country Gravy. The browning of the flour helps a little though. Real Country Gravy needs the drippings from bacon or sausage instead of plain oil. And you must brown the flour otherwise you will just have a white sauce. The browned flour gives the best flavor and color. I love Country Gravy but it's really not very healty. But once in a great while is very good. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good! I love it! I whisked in some Poultry Gravy powder that tasted great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
If you want real country flavor, brown the flour in sausage grease (my favorite) or bacon grease. Also, try it with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
EXCELLENTE! Used bacon drippings instead of oil and Used 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I use butter instead of oil. Also a little crumbled up cooked bacon and sausage. Salt is a necessity, without it no flavor at all also pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of Worchestshire sauce. Country gravy has to be more than a white sauce. It has to taste like southern country. Maybe a 1/2 tsp. of chicken bouillon also. Lee S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States