Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Easiest and quickest gravy recipe EVER!!! Tastes great too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I browned a lb of "Jimmy Deans", used those drippings, followed the recipe, put the sausage back in. A layer of Potatoes O'brian (with extra onion and garlic), a layer of scrambled eggs. Topped with gravy....great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Oh my goodness! I just made cream gravy from scratch. Yummy! I did add the garlic salt, and chicken boullion just for a little flavor. I was a little nervous about cooking the "roux" for 10 minutes after I completely ruined some gumbo a few years back, but it turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Sowders Sitton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My mother-in-law taught me how to make what she called "Breakfast Gravy". She grew up in the south and her southern cooking was awesome. I found this recipe to be very blah. It's actually more of a White Sauce than Country Gravy. The browning of the flour helps a little though. Real Country Gravy needs the drippings from bacon or sausage instead of plain oil. And you must brown the flour otherwise you will just have a white sauce. The browned flour gives the best flavor and color. I love Country Gravy but it's really not very healty. But once in a great while is very good. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good! I love it! I whisked in some Poultry Gravy powder that tasted great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
If you want real country flavor, brown the flour in sausage grease (my favorite) or bacon grease. Also, try it with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
EXCELLENTE! Used bacon drippings instead of oil and Used 1/2 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I use butter instead of oil. Also a little crumbled up cooked bacon and sausage. Salt is a necessity, without it no flavor at all also pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of Worchestshire sauce. Country gravy has to be more than a white sauce. It has to taste like southern country. Maybe a 1/2 tsp. of chicken bouillon also. Lee S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great basic recipe. I agree with others that adding bacon or sauage/drippings would add more flavor. I will also try it with butter sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
So even though I'm a Canadian girl, I've always had a fascination with southern cooking- I used this recipe and changed it up a little- I added a garlic clove and used butter instead of oil- cooked that up- then added the flour- added 1/2 veggie stock- 1/2 milk, it turned out really yummy-served it over chicken fried chicken- hope it was still true to the south :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States