Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by beklii13
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Great recipe other than the fact that there was absolutely no flavor! I had to add a lot more salt and pepper. I also added some fried onion and Worcestershire sauce and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Tastes like I"m eating the oil that I make my chicken cutlets in. I don't think I could add enough spices to get rid of that taste. Grosssss. Edit: So I added a chicken bullion cube, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, more salt and pepper. It helped a little. Then I added a couple tablespoons of the juice and teriyaki sauce that I cooked the pork chops in. That made it palatable. I guess I could have added butter as well. I may have "browned" the oil/flour mixture too long. Recipe says 10 minutes, I did it 8 and it was a bit too long. I'll try 6-7 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FallenAnjel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made this as directed. It was not terrible, but it lacked flavor. I would use this recipe again as a template, but would use butter or bacon grease (that I have saved in the freezer) in place of oil. Consistency was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Ok this is a great all around recipe for a basic cream gravy. As one review stated if it taste of flour you are not cooking it long enough. For richer flavor instead of oil butter is OK, sausage / bacon grease even better. If not cooking bacon / sausage my mom always used lard. If pan frying a steak add lard to left over grease / meat drippings and continue as recipe instructs. I will make one comment some will disagree with. Keep your darn Garlic for cuisine not labeled southern! I love Garlic but on basic white / creak gravy you gotta be kidding me. Salt, Pepper, meat drippings nothing else needed. You can use cream, evaporated milk + water, chicken / turkey stock,even plain water if it is all you have. Any combination of liquids can be tried for that special secret recipe of your own. WE always had a tight budget and gravy was an inexpensive way to add calories / fat to make kids full and satisfied. Fat is good in moderation! Besides it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fzzy Bttcrak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Really good and easy peasy! Threw in some leftover crumbled up sausage which will always make it 'mo betta'!! It was my first attempt at white gravy, and it turned out really well. Thumbs up from the FAM, so it must be alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Butter instead of oil. Let the butter and flour cook for 10 mins. Will thicken upon standing. A little chicken boullion instead of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
It has no flavor except flour and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena Sieracki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Why can I only give five stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
make this all the time with country sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I'm really torn here. On one hand, I wanted to make biscuits and gravy and had vegetarian guests over, so it was cool to see a recipe that specifically does not call for animal fat (although that clearly makes it better). On the other hand, I found myself in a situation where I just added more and more milk in an effort for my gravy to be less thick and... kind of gelatinous? I'm presuming that's because I used oil instead of butter. So maybe it would be a solid 4 stars with butter (and bacon grease!), but then I'd no longer be reviewing the present recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States