Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used a stick of butter instead as I did not have vegetable oil. I always use fresh ground pepper as we like the big chunks of pepper. We served over biscuits and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made this just this morning for 50 people. I added buttermilk as well. Just a bit heavy on the buttermilk. This gravy came out great anyhow. Thickened up perfectly. Will use this gravy each time I need a good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
it tasted like flour, even though i cooked the rue for 10 min, i used butter instead of the oil and some bacon grease, im sure it was good but maybe since i used butter i shouldve changed the flour measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this tonight to go with ham and potatoes, although I used butter instead of oil. It was fantastic! My kids and my husband both couldn't stop eating it! Thanks for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Pretty tasty. I followed the recipe, but made some minor changes. I cooked up some bacon and sausage in the same pan, prior to mixing the gravy, so used that leftover grease to start with. Instead of Veggie Oil, I used some butter I had in the fridge. Be careful so it doesn't burn.... This is my first review, but soon you'll know that I like using garlic in my food. Since this is country-style, I used very little, just a few pinches. Paprika and some Tabasco red hot sauce was added as well, in addition, fresh ground black pepper!!!! Don't cook the gravy too long or it'll be very thick when it settles, so thick that it will act like icing on your biscuits or hash browns or eggs.... Overall, fantastic. Now I can make country style gravy from scratch when I make my country-fried pork chops!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I was making biscuits and gravy last night for my family and one of my children is a vegetarian so I decided to try recipe. I turned out really well. The only thing I changed was using butter instead of oil. So good my daughter was inquiring this morning where I had put the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
First attempt at country gravy. BIG hit... We highly recommend. Only variation I did was use butter in place of veg oil as suggested by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I really like it! plain, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was GREAT. (: Next time I am going to cook up some breakfast sausage and add it for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I agree with Janine...to get the right flavor, fry up some sausage or bacon first, set it aside. Next, pour off the fat. NOW start your gravy... Great starter recipe! Sometimes I add a pinch of red pepper flakes for some kick...try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States