Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I just made this for the first time, it turned out nice, however I still get a flour-y consistency and slight taste though I cooked the rue until brown(approx. 11 minutes on medium heat). It was also extremely bland considering I used the said amount of salt and pepper. I did have to add 2 beef bullion cubes for more flavor. I mixed in some ground venison and bacon. I did use butter and bacon rendering instead of oil. Over-all it's a great recipe that I plan on using and playing with until it suits our taste. Great starter gravy!! I did want to add to say, that I really like this recipe because it gives you room to add ingredients and play with, without ruining the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Voymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have made lots of gravy in my 55 years , and I thought this was a great recipe , I followed the direction (I always have made my gravy from memory ) it was perfect smooth, white, silky , and very tasty I did add extra pepper and salt ... over all I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! This was the first one I read, it seemed simple and it was and it was a big hit. Definitely the only white gravy I will ever need to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domsmommy2003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Best of the best!! Been a southerner all my life and never made consistent gravy until now. My husband loved it! I'm sure you could half the batch but you'll eat more than you should if you make the full recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The only modification I made was to use butter instead of oil. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe today, and it was okay. I also found it to be very floury. I added some beef bouillon and some galic salt and it made it better. Definatley needed some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candletrees1
Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very good gravy.. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe but I used butter instead of oil! Tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Needed a start and this was great! I did use a mix of sausage and bacon grease instead of oil. I also substituted sweetened condensed milk for the regular milk? I also added the fresh sage sausage that I fried and drained. My boyfriend said it was like his Grandpa used to fix and he loved it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I just made this gravy I used a little more pepper than what was called for, but it was delicious. I've been cooking for a long long time. But some things I never really wondered if I could make it from home like this gravy, I usually buy the mix, but I was much more satisfied with these results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States